Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Why does the Typhoon H break recorded videos in to sections?

Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
19
Reaction score
2
Age
51
I did my first recording today in 4K resolution using the included memory card. I then inserted the card in to my MacBook which I discovered that there were three different videos of the single recording session.

Why did the H break the recording in to three sections instead of just having one?
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
6,920
Reaction score
3,333
Location
Bessemer, MI
It appears the CGO cameras are programmed to keep files limited to 5 minutes. It is possible this is to prevent an entire flight video from being corrupted if a glitch were to occur. When you put the files together in an editor they are seamless. Even if the 5 minutes limit was removed, the Fat32 file system has a max file size, so 4k video would still be segmented.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
Most camera drones record videos in spurts of 5-8 minute videos, and the shorter and more with the higher you go in resolution(4K)
 

FlushVision

Premium Pilot
Joined
Jun 19, 2016
Messages
2,955
Reaction score
1,273
Age
64
Location
Shaw, Gtr Manchester, U.K.
I can see the logic of recording in chunks (You only lose one chunk if things get corrupted) but it'd be nice to have the option of switching it to record the whole lot in one go.
 
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
35
Reaction score
6
Age
66
It is a file size limit affecting all cards; not a time limit. Go Pros do the same thing, DJI Ps have the same issue.

The important question is do the files stitch together without losing frames. Go Pros don't loose frames, the P owners are disappointed to see lost frames between one file and the next.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
I can see the logic of recording in chunks (You only lose one chunk if things get corrupted) but it'd be nice to have the option of switching it to record the whole lot in one go.
It's a file size
They lose one or two files, not a big issue in editing though!
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
99
Reaction score
41
Location
Monmouth County, NJ
The larger video files can also choke up your computer! So these smaller segments make it much easier to work with in my opinion
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
43
Reaction score
7
Location
Victoria, Texas
I have a Canon 7D Mk II and it breaks video up in 15 min sections. So it's not just drone cameras that segment, just different time segments.
 
Joined
May 7, 2016
Messages
1,140
Reaction score
358
Age
72
Location
Gurdon, Ar
So as I understand it 4K smaller segments 1080P larger ones.
 
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
567
Reaction score
194
Age
71
Location
Cardiff-Wales UK
I think it is to do with the general computer operating system. Files are usually 3.7gb. All cameras have to work within the standard operating protocol.
 
Joined
May 7, 2016
Messages
1,140
Reaction score
358
Age
72
Location
Gurdon, Ar
Technology is out pacing our purchases. Funny
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2016
Messages
1,483
Reaction score
1,300
Age
49
Location
UK
It's to do with the way the disk is formatted. The maximum file size on Fat32 disks (ie. most SD cards) is 4Gb. Any video larger than that has to be split into separate files.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
17,031
Messages
198,924
Members
19,702
Latest member
Carlotto85