Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

ST10 Firmware

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Robert Miller, Oct 28, 2015.

  1. Robert Miller

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if the seemingly endless addition of new no-fly zones to the ST10 firmware can be avoided by upgrading with the European version (which I assume only contains the European no-fly zones)? To my knowledge disabling the gps on the quad. itself does not disable the no-fly block since the gps cannot be disabled on the ST10. This block has prevented doing some very lo altitude videos, for example at weddings, when in an almost city wide no-fly zone.
     
  2. Savannah Flyer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great questions Robert. I just tried to do a low altitude photo/video shoot of a vacant trailer yard I own. Airport is one mile away but I do not go above 50 feet for the filming. Very frustrating. Thanks, Ryan
     
  3. Chris K.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I live with in 1 mile of an airport. I contact the tower everytime I fly and I haven't had any problems with no-fly zones. I can fly without any restrictions and without issues flying any On my Q500's
     
  4. Savannah Flyer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Chris. I give them a call and have another go. Ryan
     
  5. Stevemelamed

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    How are you flying the q500 in a NFZ. Mine wont even let you start up if you are.
     
  6. LARGE1

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Boise Idaho
    I agree how were you getting the bird to even start.
     
  7. Colin

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    23
    I think it might depend on the class of airport... I live less than 500 yards from a small privately owned airfield (3 tarmac runways though) and I can fly here no problem but haven't yet had reason to see if it'd still fire up near a commercial airfield.
     
  8. Colin

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    23
    PS. If you do install the EU firmware in your ST10 do not install it on your camera as well or you'll quickly find that your tx power has become severely restricted when compared to the non-EU power limit.