Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. James_perth

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Hi. I'm a new member from Perth, Western Australia and looking for a bit of clarification before committing to a Typhoon H.

    What I'm looking to understand is if I'm using team mode to film someone kitesurfing (for example), am I able to override / exit the follow/watch me mode and regain control from the ST16 if I feel they are heading into a dangerous situation - for example a crowded area ?

    ( i.e I've attached the wizard to my subject for ease of tracking, and I just want to control the camera)

    I do own an Airdog which as great follow me ability, but absolutely no control from anyone other than the subject wearing the leash. This makes filming anyone other than myself a scary proposition.

    I did own a P4 briefly but sold it unopened / unboxed after reading countless reports of the problems experienced.

    3rd time lucky I'm hoping.
     
    #1 James_perth, Jun 9, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2016
  2. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Sure you can, even with the Wizard too!, You can always exit right out, or switch to Angle Mode and you are back in full control ! Since those modes you stated can only be done in Smart Mode, Wizard you can just stop it, haven't tried or even know if you can change flight modes with Wizard yet?
     
    James_perth likes this.
  3. James_perth

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Great, so as long as I have the ST16 controller with me, I can exit the follow me tracking of the wizard by switching out of the smart modes back to angle.

    This is a major problem with the AD when your subject is 300-400m away and unaware of potential hazards.

    Sounds like the Typhoon H can offer me tracking as well as manual control then. Best of both worlds.
     
  4. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes Sir !
     
    James_perth likes this.
  5. Allan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    13
    Are you sure on this? I haven't read anywhere stating that you can switch flight control from the Wizard to the ST16 while flying.
     
  6. DroneClone

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    If you go into the setting and select out of Team Mode back to Single Mode it is supposed to, I personally have never tried this, so I would call Yuneec to confirm that it will !
     
  7. yuneec53

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    london UK
    I found by accident really by what happened to me in switching from team mode to ST16. The H interpreted the switch of Mode as a break in connection. Hence the Typhoon ascended instigating RTH , So it just stayed at the hover until the single mode was entered after a short while. So it would seem to be quite safe but the switch from team mode to single mode is not instant. I also found although I was not trying to do what you were seeking that it is possible to lock the ST 16 in team mode. Meaning that after closing down both systems and opening up them up again the ST 16 was still in Team Mode. Maybe there was a glitch with the Wizard but it seems that it is possible to start up in Team Mode from scratch.
     
  8. Eric

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    278
    I tested the team mode. It works fine, BUT during the team mode, I tried to switch off the wizard in order to get back the whole control with my st16... Impossible, I had to switch the wizard on, to take control again and land the H.
     
  9. James_perth

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    thanks guys. Seems like it's a feature best not relied upon. Still, pound for pound it looks good. Im still reading and researching as much as I can.
     
  10. Brian Richardson

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Alicante, Spain
    I tried the Wizard but didn't think I had any real use for it. I went through the procedure to return to ST16 only, but since then my "H"
    has not booted up. On the main LED I get BLUE>>>RED >>YELLOW flashing 1 second apart repeatedly.The screen on the ST16 says (LHS) "GPS acquiring"
    and nothing happens. I sent a email to Yuneec EU a week ago but have not had a reply. I thought the Yuneec service was good. So far, not for me. The telephone number is always engaged.
    I have this idea that it is something to do with that Wizard. Is it trying to start up from the Wizard ?
     
  11. yuneec53

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    london UK
    If the ST16 will not boot to a screen there is nothing you can do but send it back. If you can get the ST16 to boot up without the Typhoon being on you will find it is still in team mode. Put it back to single (you may have to do it twice) and it should be alright. This is what I did when I had the same problem.
     
  12. gite3800

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. I'm a New member from France, near Calais.

    I've attached the wizard to Typhoon H as team mode,

    And no return possible to switching in single?

    On the ST 16 I have video return and no pan and tilt only the gimbal tilt control slider

    On the Typhoon H, gimbal is in the front axe can move only with control slider.

    On the ST 16 I go into the setting and select out of Team Mode back to Single Mode, I do it twice, and repeat many time nothing change.

    Did I send it back for overhaul ?
     
  13. RiverRunner

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    219
    Did you tilt the Typhoon H forward 2 times to set it in bind mode?
    Do this and you should see the rear LED flashing orange. On the ST16, go to binding screen and refresh. Click on both the Typhoon H and CGO3 plus camera. If it asks for a password, use "1234567890"
     
  14. Eric

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    278
    salut le ch'nord !