Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Too hot to fly?

Reaction score
OK, admittedly I am kind of new to the whole LiPo scene. Used to NiCad or NimH types and less intimidated by the older types.

I live in Alabama where it can stay 90*F for days, sometimes weeks, on end. I hear about the LiPo batteries being heat sensitive, and thermal runaways.

My question is this. Is there a temperature that I should refrain from flying in? Is there such a thing as "too hot to fly" for a drone. . .

i live in texas , been 98 to 103 for the last three weeks . rey little good days to fly . i don’t fly if it’s above 90 or so but that’s just me .

That is kind of where I was thinking as my battery temps come back at the 140-150*F range. . .Just seemed REALLY hot to me. . .Maybe Ron or Pat can chime in and let us know from a veteran perspective

I've flown in temperatures ranging from +5*F to +107*F but the extremes have impacted flight time considerably. When flying is hot, sunny weather there's also the affects of sun and heat on a heat absorbent, black aircraft to consider. When it's hot and sunny outside it's not a bad idea to bring along a white hand towel or similar to drape over the aircraft (and the controller!) while it's sitting on the ground.

As for what the best battery temps are, please go to the provided link for a considerably better explanation and description that I would provide. The info provided is accurate and informative. Discharging at High and Low Temperatures

Last edited:
Reactions: robport
The temperatures in the U.K. rarely get above 30c (86F) and such temperatures, when reached, are looked upon as a heat wave. Interestingly, though, that is exactly the sort of temperatures we are currently experiencing, and have been consistently like that this last 3 weeks...unusual for the U.K.