Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Horizontal pans jerky as ****. Normal?

Reaction score
Here's a clip, originally filmed in 4k, 30fps. Watch the edges of the window or door frame. It's nauseating to watch! Same when filming from the drone.

I'm new to this platform but is this normal behavior?? I didn't test 1080p yet, but I didn't but this thing to film in 1080.

Can anything be done? Thanks for your suggestions.

Most of what you are seeing is to be expected from rapid panning, particularly with a wide angle lens such as you find on our aircraft. The solution is to slow down your pans and movement. If you look at a variety of drone videos out there, you will note that slow and steady produces the smoothest results. You can also minimize any jerkiness by using the fastest card available to record video... the less buffering, the smoother the final product.

Reactions: ChuckBridges
Are you referring to the fisheye effect of the lens? Any wide angle lens is going to distort straight lines and the faster you move with a video camera the more disorienting it is to the viewer. Good post production software will allow to use or create a lens profile to remove a lot of the fisheye look.

• Haha
Reactions: Truman
Go full screen and watch the door frame go by. It's like a strobe light. It's almost as if it were being filmed at 10fps.

What class of SD card are you using to record the video? 4K video recording requires a Class 10 U3 (3 is inside the U) SD card to keep up with the write speed.

Part of the effect you mention also comes from the rolling shutter used in these type of cameras in conjunction with the rapid horizontal pan.

You can get the same thing to a little lesser extent with a smart phone that records in 4K and rapid movement of the camera.