Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

What is the black board inside a Q500 Battery for?

WTFDproject

Staff member
Premium Pilot
Reaction score
Just inside the Q500 Battery, there is a BLACK circuit board marked "DLX-690 RoHS" (see picture). Can anyone tell me what it does?
Q500 Battery Internal_R5.jpg

Last edited:
I haven't opened a battery myself, but, as a tech I would assume that this board is involved in balance charging of our batteries. The charger has to sense when the cell are out of balance and apply extra current to a low cell. Once again, this is just an opinion as a technician. As Yuneec warned me not to leave my batteries in the charger for more that 1 hour I don't think it has anything to do with over-charging protection. Without seeing the IC numbers this is the best guess I can give you. I am a little concerned with the look of the solder connections, but then, working as an Equipment Installer for a phone company (retired), everything had to be perfect, or it's not right.

Reactions: h-elsner
Yeah, the solder looks a little odd for something that you would expect to be machine soldered. It didn't look quite as bad after I cleaned off the blue sealant, but each point is mechanically clipped off. Maybe excess wire? And the amount of solder on each joint differs a little bit. The strangest thing is a blue color that does not seem to be a residual of the sealant. It looks just like steel that has been heated up to bluing temperature. But how in the world would you ever get solder to that temperature without melting everything around it. And does solder even turn blue anyway? I've seen a lot of solder. Never saw any blue solder before.

I'm guessing the batts are manually soldered. The batt for the H looks similar and most multi-cell lipos are likely to have a connection board.

Battery1.jpgBattery2.jpgBattery3.jpg