Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. Markinter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    So Cal
  2. Tuna

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    575
    Location:
    UK
    We were there in August, so it's cool to see the Observatory. Some sneaky editing in that clip too, but a very nice use of a drone.
     
  3. Markinter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    So Cal
    Heard they rehearsed for 2 days then did it in one take. They got very close to that light! I've watched it a few times and it interesting to focus on only the operators moves and not on what the camera is doing. Also pay attention to the solid objects like walls instead of the performers and you'll notice all the minor course corrections. Very good work though!
     
  4. Wayneious

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Long Beach/Los Angeles, CA.
    I'd like to have seen someone following the drone filming it doing the work.
     
    Markinter likes this.
  5. Brian Mackey

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Eagle Idaho
  6. recharged95

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Inspire nor TYH.... Most of the times AM flies their custom rig or alta for big studio production shots. It's about the optics...

    Perfect use of the drone, lots of post production work though.
     
  7. Brandon Lowe

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Eagle ID
    I think the flying and camera work for this could have been done with an H. I'm sure they used a dual setup with a pilot and camera man. It takes some skills and practice to do this. Lots of timing required to be in the right place at the right time and to move from place to place at the right speed.
    That being said the H camera would not be up to the job for this I do not think. I would hope they used a GH4 or some other high end production camera for this. Maybe the X5 if it was shot with the Inspire.
     
    Brian Mackey likes this.
  8. CAPTAINDRONE

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    843
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    That was well done. The great thing with using a really good camera, as was used here, is that you don't require 4K for the HD TV broadcast with a high bit rate. So with course corrections in the drone which always result in non-smooth results, you can smooth everything out in post production as they have done here (everything is super smooth).

    There had to have been someone operating the camera while a pilot was flying the drone. I would go as far as add that there was a second or every third camera attached to the Inspire for the pilot only. The reason I say this is that the location didn't allow for perfect line of sight so if you have someone turning the camera to shoot the action, the pilot becomes blind to where he is flying (i.e. scenes where the drone was going sideways, backwards, etc). Impressive what you can do with a drone!
     
  9. WilsonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    106
    That could certainly be done with an Inspire with an x5 and a good lens and a secondary operator, but my guess is that was something like a 5D Mk III or a Sony mounted on something bigger.

    Love my Inspire. They're all utilitarian to me. Some are better at some things than others. Lately, flying correctly is not one of the TH's better qualities, unfortunately.
     
  10. WilsonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    106
    Maybe I need to re-think this Dancing with the Stars thing. Maybe I should be watching after all. Damn!
     
    Brian Mackey and Markinter like this.
  11. Brian Mackey

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Eagle Idaho
    so, your answer is?
     
    Markinter likes this.
  12. Markinter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    So Cal
    I believe it was the X5 camera and yes dual operators. I'm on the dji Facebook page and the pilot posts answers to people's questions. He flew line of sight not using second camera. Lots of pressure to shoot one continuous shot like that with all the dancers crew etc, time is money.
     
  13. Miguel Angelo

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yes, it could be done with a Typhoon with dual operator. But remember that the Inspire as a micro 4/3 camera with a high transfer rate. I also be more comfortable having a a second fpv camera for the drone operator... and yes, lot of work do the drone, dancers choreography
     
    Markinter likes this.
  14. samsflite

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    16
    It's just a 500 point curved cable cam....easy ;)
     
    Markinter likes this.
  15. Brandon Lowe

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Eagle ID
    Yes it is a m4/3 sensor but the bitrate still max's out at 60Mbps. The larger sensor gives you a better dynamic range and better low light capabilities but still not getting a super high bitrate like 100Mbps. While looking for the bitrate I came across a couple of things I did not know about. Discovery channel requires 160Mbps for there broadcast stuff, and the X5 camera cannot use all m4/3 lenses because of balance. Just some interesting info I saw. Yes I would still love to have something like the X5 on my H.
     
  16. Miguel Angelo

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    20
  17. Brandon Lowe

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Eagle ID
    I have been a m4/3 photographer for about 4-5 years after selling off all my Canon gear. I currently use a GH3 and GX7 with a number of different lenses. I am in the process of building a larger hex to carry a larger camera but I'm taking my time on that build as I have many other multirotors (15) that keep me busy.
     
  18. Dragonflyerthom

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    354
    Location:
    Guidon, Ar
    Brandon when do you have the time? I have that many and I have 3/4 that haven't been flown in months.
     
  19. Brandon Lowe

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Eagle ID
    I don't have the time to fly them all, that is the problem. My H and X-Star are getting all the air time these days.
     
  20. Markinter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    So Cal
    The new Gopro Karma was just promed, no real specs yet but it's a very nice package and reasonable. 16 drones is a nice round number:)