Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Typhoon H long mission questions

Reaction score
Hi all,

This will be my first post here so greetings to you all from the warm Indonesia :)

So I've been flying phantom 3 pro and p4 (sold the p4) for 5 months now. One thing that keeps me flying is the ability to do long range mission, the kind that put the bird so far where RC signal is lost. Somehow I just hooked to doing this. I use Litchi, and now even planning to create simple web based mission planner that will be interoperable with Litchi Mission Hub (just to tell you all how I love doing this :) ).

One thing that (somewhat) disappoint me however, is that with Phantoms the gimbal pitch control (in curved path mission) can only be done when RC signal is within reach. This is because with Phantom it need to borrow the processing power of the connected tablet to control the gimbal smooth movement, because of limited computing resource onboard aircraft (so I was told in PhantomPilots :) ).

I had my eye on Typhoon H for sometime now, maybe to replace my P3P or to complement it, but have difficulties getting clarification on these (or maybe my web searching skill sucks):
  1. Can the T.H. be flown out of RC range, and if it can does it able to have it's gimbal yaw and pitch pre-programmed? With Phantom I can only pre-program the aircraft yaw (gimbal yaw cannot be controlled in Phantom) but gimbal pitch only work if within RC signal coverage.
  2. How relieable and trustworthy is the RTH function?
    I knew from here
    that T.H. RTH function is that if its below 10 meter it will fly to 10 meter, if its above 10 meters it will maintain altitude while flying home. Can I override this with a certain RTH altitude like I can with Phantoms? If I cannot, how reliable is the obstacle avoidance system on a RTH?
Please share your long mission experience on T.H. , would love to hear any story, good or otherwise.

-
Rudi