Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Average Battery Life and Safety Concerns

Reaction score
I have a battery that was part of my original H pro package purchased in early March of this year that has me a bit concerned. It runs hotter than my other 3 after a flight and the skin within the frame is puffed up after landing.

This battery has roughly 40 flights on it, starting at 16.7v and generally ending a 14.8v unloaded.

My second battery (also part of the original purchase) has roughly 35 flights on it with the same starting and ending voltages, and it's now starting to end a flight warmer than #3 & #4 (purchased later) and it's puffing up slightly.

I'm a newbie to Lipo's, but it's my understanding that a puffy LiPo is can be no bueno! With that said, my questions are:

What is the average life of a Tyhpoon H, OEM battery ?

At what point is a puffy battery truly a concern and, to what degree?

Thanks as always!

A puffy battery is of concern the moment package inflation becomes evident. From that moment forward they are unpredictable and can fail in the worst way at any time.

Average battery life is hard to say with Yuneec batteries. We have nothing to establish the cell quality to go by. I have 8 good batteries but none of them have more than 37 charge cycles on them. None of them are demonstrating indicators of impending failure as yet.

Reactions: BeeRAD56
BeeRad,
If the battery is puffed to the point that it will no longer "SMOOTHLY" fit into the H battery compartment, I would give serious thought to neutralizing it and finding a replacement.
There are so many variables that can affect battery life. Charge cycles, charge rate, discharge rate when flying, storage voltages, just to name a few.
Like Pat said, the H is still kind of new, hard to say what life expectancy from the batteries should be.
I have seen a few Lipo fires, they are not pretty, and usually will damage the aircraft beyond repair.