Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

More Battery Questions

Reaction score
I'm a newer pilot that flies the Typhoon H and I just want to get some of my confusion about the batteries clarified moving forward here. I know there's a ton of threads about this stuff but it will be nice to see some current opinions from people.

I used to fly my Typhoon H until I got the "battery low" warning, then I would bring it down and land it. Since then I have learned that it's better to land the drone when the battery is around 14.5V. What do you all do regarding when you land your drone and what voltage you store the battery at when you don't fly for a while?

Also, is it okay to just partially charge the battery, or should I always be charging it until the light on the charger turns green telling me it's fully charged?

Thanks a bunch for the help!

Landing before the low battery warning is a prudent thing to do. It prevents stress on the battery and helps prolong its useful lifespan.

The batteries for the TH are 4S LiPo batteries and as such should be put into storage voltage of 3.8 to 3.85 V per cell (15.2V to 15.4V)after flying unless you plan to fly the next day or so, in which case to can do a full charge to 4.2V per cell (16.8V).

If you are charging to fly you want a full charge on the battery as that is when it is working most efficiently.

It sounds as if you only have the OEM charger for your batteries. You should really look into a third party charger that supports 90Watts per channel so you can charge at the max rate of 1C (5.4 A for the 5400mAh TH batteries). It is best to look for one that allows you to measure the IR of each cell so you can keep a better eye on your battery health.

Hmmmm, many questions, will be prompting many opinions from people.