Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Compass calibration

Joined
Aug 12, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Age
46
Hello, I have recently been the owner of a Mantis G and almost everything is ok, only the drone wants to calibrate the compass every now and then, follows the instructions, once it succeeds and once an error pops up. And so every flight how to fix it
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,711
Reaction score
3,872
Location
Genesee, MI USA
Do the compass calibration in an open area free of electrical/magnetic interference (power lines both above or below ground, concrete with rebar, your cell phone and or smart watch, metal fencing, vehicles, etc). Make sure you get the single beep then perform the rotation until you get the double beep, switch to the next position, wait for the single beep, and so on.
I kept getting a failure at the third position by holding the aircraft 180 degrees out from the position it expected. If you get an odd sound instead of the single beep at the start of a new position, turn it 180 degrees to get the single beep.
If you keep getting warnings about the compass, try moving to a different area a few meters away and try again.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Age
46
Ok, thank you for your help, I try to do everything according to the instructions, but almost always shows an error in the third position, and if it succeeds, after a few flights in the same terrain, it calls for calibration again
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,711
Reaction score
3,872
Location
Genesee, MI USA
Have you had any hard landings or bumped into anything?

Did you buy it new so there is a warranty?
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Age
46
Mantis is new and I did not have a hard landing, even though it calls for compass calibration, it keeps its position well and shows all parameters, altitude, speed, distance, maybe it's the software's fault and there is some error
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,711
Reaction score
3,872
Location
Genesee, MI USA
With it being new it should be under warranty by Yuneec. I would submit a support ticket via the Yuneec website to see what they have to say about it.

What type of terrain or surfaces are you launching from when you get the compass warnings?

Do you place it in the launch area and then power up, or do you power it on and then set it down to launch?
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Age
46
Flat train, meadow few buildings, first turn on the drone and then take it to the starting point, maybe that's what I'm doing wrong
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,711
Reaction score
3,872
Location
Genesee, MI USA
Yes it should be placed where you intend to launch and then power it on. See if that makes a difference.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,957
Messages
230,857
Members
24,219
Latest member
nbetonline