Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

GPS lock goes out midflight

Reaction score
Hey all, I am super new to this UAV world, and own a Yuneec Typhoon H (pro) with intel realsense. I have flown it about ten times since i got it a couple weeks ago. The GPS has gone out midflight (in strong wind) 2 times. first time with 14 satellites and second time with 11 satellites.

Since I am pretty new to this, and just dropped 2k of my hard earned money on this bird......when it went into manual mode in strong wind with trees around, I just about had a heart attack. Both times landed fine, but now I am all sketched out about flying it in wind.

Anyway, my real question is, how many satellites do you need to keep a solid GPS lock? I know theres two sets, for the controller and the bird, but whats a good number for both?

The first time could have been a calibration issue, but It happened after 20 minutes of successful flight. Wouldnt a calibration issue show up right away? The second time GPS went out, I had calibrated it the day before just 2 miles away, and flown for 30 minutes at distances of 500m or so, with no issue. Also, each time it goes out mid flight, with pretty much the same number of satellites as when I took off. When I took off the GPS says "ready". I am just confused, so any info helps a lot! Thanks!

Hey all, I am super new to this UAV world, and own a Yuneec Typhoon H (pro) with intel realsense. I have flown it about ten times since i got it a couple weeks ago. The GPS has gone out midflight (in strong wind) 2 times. first time with 14 satellites and second time with 11 satellites.

Since I am pretty new to this, and just dropped 2k of my hard earned money on this bird......when it went into manual mode in strong wind with trees around, I just about had a heart attack. Both times landed fine, but now I am all sketched out about flying it in wind.