Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Is your Controller FCC compliant?

Phaedrus

Premium Pilot
Reaction score
Just a comment. I know everybody does it, but according to the FCC the end user is not allowed to modify the antenna on a Part 15 certified device. You can only use the antenna(s) used to certify the transmitter. Now, having said that, there is almost zero chance of getting caught. But I can absolutely guarantee you that if you ever end up in a legal case the opposing attorney will absolutely take note of it. Goes to a potential pattern of negligence. I've been an expert witness in a couple of RC hobby related cases and one of the first thangs asked is if the equipment was being used legally and without modification.

See Part 15.203

§15.203 Antenna requirement.
An intentional radiator shall be designed to ensure that no antenna other than that furnished by the responsible party shall be used with the device.

Just a comment. I know everybody does it, but according to the FCC the end user is not allowed to modify the antenna on a Part 15 certified device. You can only use the antenna(s) used to certify the transmitter. Now, having said that, there is almost zero chance of getting caught. But I can absolutely guarantee you that if you ever end up in a legal case the opposing attorney will absolutely take note of it. Goes to a potential pattern of negligence. I've been an expert witness in a couple of RC hobby related cases and one of the first thangs asked is if the equipment was being used legally and without modification.

See Part 15.203
Hi Phaedrus,