Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

What A Journey

Reaction score
For a little background, I have been flying RC aircraft for many many years. Currently in the hanger I have close to 40 aircraft ranging from 3 meter gliders to 250 size racing quads. I am definitely not new to flying rc.

with that out of the way, here then is my journey to deciding on the Yuneec Typhoon H.

I decided last fall to document abandoned farmsteads and other interesting points of interest in rural Saskatchewan Canada. If you are not familiar with Saskatchewan, it has a reputation for being flat and boring and a mostly overlooked area of Canada. Since moving there I have discovered that it is a beautiful place and wanted to share that beauty with others. So I started looking for an aerial platform that would get the best footage at a price that didn't require selling a car to pay for it.

Like most that start looking for a video quad I looked at acquiring a DJI Phantom. After reading 100's of reviews and countless videos something seemed hinky about DJI but I couldn't quite put my finger on what it was.
At this point I started branching out to find alternatives to the Phantom. Which when you really don't know who the players in the market are is actually a little difficult to do. The solution is to find every online shop and check out what they sell. It became very obvious that the choices available for a drone with a quality 4k camera are limited and most offered a GoPro camera. I am not a huge fan of the GoPro range of cameras ( that fish eye view is terrible for cinematic footage ) and I was looking for an integrated system.