Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Typhoon H Tips?

Reaction score
I ordered my Typhoon H, and it will be arriving on Monday and I am beyond excited for it to get here. I have been watching a lot of videos and reading up on things to know before I fly my H. Just wanted to make this post to get any suggestions of things I should know, before I take my H on its first flight.

A few months ago when bought my TH I was a newbie and very excited about my new toy. Big Error......... didn't read the instructions just went and flew it at a park. I was flying and started drifting toward a tree. I was about 10 feet of the ground. Panicked and push the red button. My new toy just dropped like a rock. and camera destroyed.. My advice. At the beginning fly higher than all obstacles until you get the hang of it. READ THE INSTRUCTIONS. Good luck and enjoy this beautiful machine.

I was also a newbie at the beginning of the year :)
Especially with hindsight, I would suggest that you fly in Angle mode not in Smart mode to start with. Many crashes have been caused by launching in Smart mode and standing too close to the H. If you are new to flying, don't fly too low and if you lose control just take your fingers off the sticks and the H will safely hover in place while you sort yourself out. The H is a wonderful flying camera but the flying comes first. Get used to that before worrying what your video looks like!
Finally, the H is complex with many functions but is fabulous to use so enjoy your flying.

Maybe even a good idea to do a few flights without camera, it is easy to remove from the TH and you don´t risk wrecking it in case something does go wrong. What do the others think about this?
Find a huge open space for your first few flights, no power lines nearby and a day with no wind if possible.

You're off to a good start by watching videos and asking questions.