Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Check for geomagnetics interferences

Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Age
43
Hello everyone, I have a problem with a Typhoon H3 that I also put on sale, so I'm really annoyed... If anyone has an idea...; My drone was not used for a few months and when I turned it back on (it worked very well before) I first had a problem with the camera/rc connection, after a few restarts it worked again, I updated day and it may have nothing to do with it, but when I want to do a compass calibration, I always get the message in red "check for geomagnetic interferences" (I tried in several places, some of which were very open and far from my phone and any other object that may interfere), the calibration is done until the end; when I then want to start the motors, it beeps and the lights flash red; unable to start them. By
elsewhere is it normal to no longer have GPS once the camera is removed? And also impossible to do a compass calibration if the camera is not in place, which would however be better not to force it to be replaced each time. Perhaps a GPS or compass module that would have suddenly failed?... And that would suddenly have to be replaced; I don't really want to get into this kind of DIY (it's no longer under warranty), without being sure that it's that. Already that I wanted to lower the selling price, there it will be necessary to give it almost!!! . Thank you in advance for your answers...
 

zebulon

Premium Pilot
Joined
Aug 18, 2021
Messages
18
Reaction score
10
Location
Germany
Sometimes it happens also with my H3 that when I press the red start button the motors won't start and the H3 responds with beeps. One of the reasons can be you are standing too close to the H3. In such cases I switch the flight mode selection switch to position "sport mode", press the red motor start button for a couple of seconds until the motors are running. Then I set the flight mode selection switch back to "angle mode" for lift off.

The message "check for geomagnetic interferences" occurs with my H3 when the bird is standing too close to my car. An other reason for the message may be a geomagnetic interference by a solar storm. In Germany the physical-technical union institute publishes every 3 hours the new status of the earth's magnetic field and disturbances. From the published diagrams you can see especially the KP-Index denoting the severity of geomagnetic disturbances. During the last 2-3 weeks we had KP-values above 4 and 5 which can disturbe the automatic GPS navigation. In such cases it is safer to fly the bird manually.

This is the link

Maybe you will have a similar institution in France.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Anthony from France
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Age
43
Sometimes it happens also with my H3 that when I press the red start button the motors won't start and the H3 responds with beeps. One of the reasons can be you are standing too close to the H3. In such cases I switch the flight mode selection switch to position "sport mode", press the red motor start button for a couple of seconds until the motors are running. Then I set the flight mode selection switch back to "angle mode" for lift off.

The message "check for geomagnetic interferences" occurs with my H3 when the bird is standing too close to my car. An other reason for the message may be a geomagnetic interference by a solar storm. In Germany the physical-technical union institute publishes every 3 hours the new status of the earth's magnetic field and disturbances. From the published diagrams you can see especially the KP-Index denoting the severity of geomagnetic disturbances. During the last 2-3 weeks we had KP-values above 4 and 5 which can disturbe the automatic GPS navigation. In such cases it is safer to fly the bird manually.

This is the link

Maybe you will have a similar institution in France.
Thank you Zebulon for your answer, I tried to start in sport mode, but i have the same problem, the motors don't start and it beeps. I tried to calibrate the compass many times since 2 months, sometimes with a little KP value and it's the same thing. I'm very disappointed to have bought this Typhoon H3 (I had others problems before with the cam). Thank you. Anthony
 

7cyclops

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 24, 2018
Messages
413
Reaction score
252
Age
69
Location
Freesoil Michigan
If you are interested in keeping the drone this forum can be a big help. EHem,make sure no keys cell phone etc. in your pocket.My vape mod even does interference. So many things coud be wrong.Did you read the extended manual posted on this sight? Did you let the drone sit outside under clear sky for maybe an hour so it can charge tiny battery inside drone. I suggest you start putting some time into this. Ask specific questions on the site and the experts will chime in.If your just wanting to sell it no one is interested in spending their valuable time helping you and for sure no one is gonna want to buy it. You can use the search at top right of page,just click on the magnifier symbol and ask a question in reference to your problem,,eg: compas interference problems etc. The more you study your self the more familiar you will become with your drone. These are not usually fly out of the box drones, toys. Otherwise a crash or malfunction is inevitable. Good luck. Peace KC
 
  • Like
Reactions: Anthony from France
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Age
43
If you are interested in keeping the drone this forum can be a big help. EHem,make sure no keys cell phone etc. in your pocket.My vape mod even does interference. So many things coud be wrong.Did you read the extended manual posted on this sight? Did you let the drone sit outside under clear sky for maybe an hour so it can charge tiny battery inside drone. I suggest you start putting some time into this. Ask specific questions on the site and the experts will chime in.If your just wanting to sell it no one is interested in spending their valuable time helping you and for sure no one is gonna want to buy it. You can use the search at top right of page,just click on the magnifier symbol and ask a question in reference to your problem,,eg: compas interference problems etc. The more you study your self the more familiar you will become with your drone. These are not usually fly out of the box drones, toys. Otherwise a crash or malfunction is inevitable. Good luck. Peace KC
Hello 7cyclops, thank you for your answer, I do not want to keep the drone because I am ending my business. I'm sure there were no keys or phone in my pockets, but maybe my electronic cigarette, it's possible, I'll try again without anything. I have not read the detailed manual on this site but that of Typhoon H and Typhoon H520 which are available in French unlike the H3. The drone worked very well before (apart from the wifi camera which was replaced by Yuneec), it's been almost 2 years since I bought it (August 2020); it hasn't worked since the spring of 2022. I didn't let it wait an hour outside but I'm going to try (it worked without it before) and the remote control battery drains very quickly, I'll plug it in. I'm going to try this, I'm ready to try everything. I suspect that no one will want to buy it except for parts if it does not start, which is why I would absolutely like to get it working again. Besides, I had never tried to calibrate the compass without the camera in place; but do you think it's normal not to be able to do it without the camera? It doesn't seem very logical to me, but... Thank you again for taking the time to answer me, I'll see that tomorrow. Anthony
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
7,491
Reaction score
4,323
Location
Genesee, MI USA
Anthony the H3 and H Plus both need the camera mounted to at least start the compass calibration. If you have the gimbal lock, place it on the camera/gimbal right before you start moving the aircraft through the calibration movements.

Unfortunately we do not have a user enhanced manual for the H3, although much of the manual for the H Plus is applicable.

If you are losing GPS lock let the aircraft sit in an area with plenty of open sky for about an hour. The first 15 minutes are to allow the download of the GPS ephemeris and the rest is to allow the backup battery for the GPS to charge enough to retain the ephemeris data.

Another thing you can do is to remove the propellers, place the mode to Manual Mode (no GPS) and see if the motors will arm.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Age
43
Anthony the H3 and H Plus both need the camera mounted to at least start the compass calibration. If you have the gimbal lock, place it on the camera/gimbal right before you start moving the aircraft through the calibration movements.

Unfortunately we do not have a user enhanced manual for the H3, although much of the manual for the H Plus is applicable.

If you are losing GPS lock let the aircraft sit in an area with plenty of open sky for about an hour. The first 15 minutes are to allow the download of the GPS ephemeris and the rest is to allow the backup battery for the GPS to charge enough to retain the ephemeris data.

Another thing you can do is to remove the propellers, place the mode to Manual Mode (no GPS) and see if the motors will arm.
Thanks a lot DoomMeister, I will try tomorrow.
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
7,491
Reaction score
4,323
Location
Genesee, MI USA
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Age
43
Hello DoomMeister and 7Cyclops; following your advice, I tested leaving the drone on for 1h20 in an open area. It certainly helped, but I still have the same problem for the motors starting, beeps and lights flashing red. I also tried to start the motors by disabling the GPS and removing the propellers, same thing. I'm not sure but the GPS doesn't seem to be in question. And I wanted to launch a compass calibration to see, I always have the message "check for geomagnetic interferences" which is displayed as soon as I launch it. Steeve Lebon, a Yuneec specialist in France left me a message that I had to magnetize the compass by leaving the drone stored too near to a magnetic source; it is true that it was stored 50cm from an electric radiator, I don't know if a radiator can have this effect on the compass, but it does not seem impossible to me. What if this is the case? Is there a solution to demagnetize the compass or should it be replaced (if this is the problem and if this spare part can be found on the internet)? Thank you for your opinions. Anthony
 
  • Like
Reactions: 7cyclops

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
7,491
Reaction score
4,323
Location
Genesee, MI USA
Hello DoomMeister and 7Cyclops; following your advice, I tested leaving the drone on for 1h20 in an open area. It certainly helped, but I still have the same problem for the motors starting, beeps and lights flashing red. I also tried to start the motors by disabling the GPS and removing the propellers, same thing. I'm not sure but the GPS doesn't seem to be in question. And I wanted to launch a compass calibration to see, I always have the message "check for geomagnetic interferences" which is displayed as soon as I launch it. Steeve Lebon, a Yuneec specialist in France left me a message that I had to magnetize the compass by leaving the drone stored too near to a magnetic source; it is true that it was stored 50cm from an electric radiator, I don't know if a radiator can have this effect on the compass, but it does not seem impossible to me. What if this is the case? Is there a solution to demagnetize the compass or should it be replaced (if this is the problem and if this spare part can be found on the internet)? Thank you for your opinions. Anthony
I have attached the User Manual for the H3. On page 43 choose the condition the LED’s are in at the following instances and report them here.

1) At end of power up initialization.

2) When you try to arm the motors.

3) At the start of attempting a compass calibration.

4) At the end of trying s compass calibration.

The GPS/Compass board is replaceable and is in the top of the top cover. Your friend should be able to help you acquire one. I know others have used a degaussing instrument on their DJI Phantoms for compass errors, but I have not seen that with the Yuneec H series.
 

Attachments

  • TYPHOON H3_USER MANUAL_V1.0.pdf
    85.2 MB · Views: 7
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Age
43
I have attached the User Manual for the H3. On page 43 choose the condition the LED’s are in at the following instances and report them here.

1) At end of power up initialization.:
The Aircraft is in Angle Mode (with GPS lock)(or sport)
2) When you try to arm the motors.:
Calibration Failed
3) At the start of attempting a compass calibration.:
Initiate Compass Calibration
4) At the end of trying s compass calibration.:
Accelerometer/ Gyro Calibration Completed; then
The Aircraft is in Angle Mode (with GPS lock)(or sport)

The GPS/Compass board is replaceable and is in the top of the top cover. Your friend should be able to help you acquire one. I know others have used a degaussing instrument on their DJI Phantoms for compass errors, but I have not seen that with the Yuneec H series.
Thank you; I copied what it corresponded to according to the colors of the lights. Everything is normal except when I try to arm the motors.
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
7,491
Reaction score
4,323
Location
Genesee, MI USA
Have you been able to successfully complete the compass calibration?

I believe until you can complete the calibration successfully you will get the calibration failure message every time you try to arm the motors.

Be sure to leave the props off when doing the compass calibration as well as having the gimbal lock in place to avoid damage to the camera gimbal.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Steve Carr
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Age
43
Have you been able to successfully complete the compass calibration?

I believe until you can complete the calibration successfully you will get the calibration failure message every time you try to arm the motors.

Be sure to leave the props off when doing the compass calibration as well as having the gimbal lock in place to avoid damage to the camera gimbal.
Yes the compass calibration is done completely and seems to be done well. I even get the message telling me that the calibration is ok and all the lights flash green for a short time at the end. On the other hand, during the whole calibration, from start to finish, I got the message "check for geom. interf." which is displayed in red.
Contrary to usual, I wanted to block the camera gimbal with the blocking device but it was shaking, I think it must have been forced too, so I took it out and tried to make fairly quick movements. The person I told you about offers me to send him the cover to demagnetize the compass. I think I'll do that, hoping that's the root of the problem. If you have another idea, do not hesitate. thank you very much.
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
7,491
Reaction score
4,323
Location
Genesee, MI USA
Yes the compass calibration is done completely and seems to be done well. I even get the message telling me that the calibration is ok and all the lights flash green for a short time at the end. On the other hand, during the whole calibration, from start to finish, I got the message "check for geom. interf." which is displayed in red.
Contrary to usual, I wanted to block the camera gimbal with the blocking device but it was shaking, I think it must have been forced too, so I took it out and tried to make fairly quick movements. The person I told you about offers me to send him the cover to demagnetize the compass. I think I'll do that, hoping that's the root of the problem. If you have another idea, do not hesitate. thank you very much.
That is a good offer from your friend. Do you know how to remove the top cover?
Be sure to leave the GPS/Compass board attached to the cover (underneath the adhesive copper foil that shields it from the Mainboard electronics). Hopefully degaussing will cure the issue.
 
Last edited:

7cyclops

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 24, 2018
Messages
413
Reaction score
252
Age
69
Location
Freesoil Michigan
Another thought .Doomeister was right on,,,sitting for a while will update the almanac the drone has stored satellites in. The other day I fired up my H Pro. It would not acknowledge anything I tried. No explanation why but I had to go into Model select and click on the H again,don't know why but it seemed to become unbound to my controller. It bound up immediately and performed perfectly.peace KC Sorry posted this earlier,just forgot to send DUH!!!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Anthony from France
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Age
43
That is a good offer from your friend. Do you know how to remove the top cover?
Be sure to leave the GPS/Compass board attached to the cover (underneath the adhesive copper foil that shields it from the Mainboard electronics). Hopefully degaussing will cure the issue.
Yes I know there are a few screws to remove, I think I found the right tool. The screws are very small. I thought I'd leave the card hanging. I'm waiting to drain the battery that I had charged for my tests in the last few days to drain a little, because I don't know how long I will have to store it then and then I will start dismantling.
Thank you for your advice... I also hope very much that this will solve the problem, I will not fail to report it by posting a message here.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
20,431
Messages
236,440
Members
25,615
Latest member
quynh2306