Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Check for geomagnetics interferences

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
7,481
Reaction score
4,317
Location
Genesee, MI USA
Yes I know there are a few screws to remove, I think I found the right tool. The screws are very small. I thought I'd leave the card hanging. I'm waiting to drain the battery that I had charged for my tests in the last few days to drain a little, because I don't know how long I will have to store it then and then I will start dismantling.
Thank you for your advice... I also hope very much that this will solve the problem, I will not fail to report it by posting a message here.
The screws should require a 1.5mm hex key and there are 10 of them. Once the screws are removed leave the arms in the unlatched position and at the arm openings press in on the top shell and pull out on the bottom shell to unlatch the small plastic clips on each side of the arm openings. Then unplug the GPS from the Mainboard and mark the connector it was plugged into (or take a photo before disconnecting).

Pack the top cover with GPS module so it can’t be crushed during shipping.

Anxious to hear if this works.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Age
43
The screws should require a 1.5mm hex key and there are 10 of them. Once the screws are removed leave the arms in the unlatched position and at the arm openings press in on the top shell and pull out on the bottom shell to unlatch the small plastic clips on each side of the arm openings. Then unplug the GPS from the Mainboard and mark the connector it was plugged into (or take a photo before disconnecting).

Pack the top cover with GPS module so it can’t be crushed during shipping.

Anxious to hear if this works.
Thanks DoomMeister for these clarifications, I found the right tools to remove the screws, but I have not started yet, I am waiting before the call of the person to whom I must send it to have the price, the deadline and address; he must have forgotten me today, I'll try to contact him again tomorrow because in France it's starting to get a bit late. I will keep you posted.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DoomMeister
Joined
May 9, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
2
Age
53
Hello DoomMeister and 7Cyclops; following your advice, I tested leaving the drone on for 1h20 in an open area. It certainly helped, but I still have the same problem for the motors starting, beeps and lights flashing red. I also tried to start the motors by disabling the GPS and removing the propellers, same thing. I'm not sure but the GPS doesn't seem to be in question. And I wanted to launch a compass calibration to see, I always have the message "check for geomagnetic interferences" which is displayed as soon as I launch it. Steeve Lebon, a Yuneec specialist in France left me a message that I had to magnetize the compass by leaving the drone stored too near to a magnetic source; it is true that it was stored 50cm from an electric radiator, I don't know if a radiator can have this effect on the compass, but it does not seem impossible to me. What if this is the case? Is there a solution to demagnetize the compass or should it be replaced (if this is the problem and if this spare part can be found on the internet)? Thank you for your opinions. Anthony
Salut Antony, Steeve est de bon conseils et quand j'ai un souci je fait aussi appel a ses services.
Concernant la magnétisation/démagnétisation ça peut arriver si tu stocke le drone a coté de haut-parleurs ou que tu le transporte dans la voiture
prés du système audio.

Hi Antony, Steve is good advice and when I have a problem I also call on his services.

Regarding magnetization / demagnetization it can happen if you store the drone next to speakers or if you transport it in the car

near the audio system.

Concernant les problèmes géomagnétiques j'utilise cette application gratuite, simple et fiable => Solar Activity Monitor (SAM) – Applications sur Google Play
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Anthony from France
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Age
43
Hello everyone; I received my demagnetized compass today. Unfortunately my problem is not solved. I did a first calibration of the compass, I had again the message "check for geom. interf" and when I wanted to start the motors again the beeps and the red flash announcing a calibration problem. So I redid a calibration and there the message no longer appeared during the calibration, I believed it... But unfortunately it was impossible to start the motors as before (beeps and red flashes); I did it a 3rd time, same thing as the 2nd... I tell myself one thing and I would like to know what you think: The red flashes announce a calibration fault; is it necessarily the calibration of the compass? Because I remember that at the beginning of my worries I had a problem with my remote control which did not turn on correctly the first time and that I then had a problem with the image feedback, which was not displayed correctly or distorted. I saw in the hidden calibration menu that there was "rc calibration", I clicked on it and I have test buttons, in doubt I did not want to go further. But wouldn't these red flashes rather indicate a problem with the calibration of the radio control, gyro, accelerometer or other...? Why not the radio control.... Have you already tested this RC calibration function? Am I likely to create more problems than there are already? If you have any information on this, I am at your disposal... Thank you in advance.
Anthony
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
7,481
Reaction score
4,317
Location
Genesee, MI USA
Did you remove the GPS board from the top cover when you sent it to be demagnetized? If so, did you place it back in the same orientation? The wires should be toward the rear of the cover.

When doing the compass calibration have you ever been able to complete it successfully (all motor LED’s green) or do you always get the red flashing motor LED’s when performing the calibration?
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Age
43
Did you remove the GPS board from the top cover when you sent it to be demagnetized? If so, did you place it back in the same orientation? The wires should be toward the rear of the cover.

When doing the compass calibration have you ever been able to complete it successfully (all motor LED’s green) or do you always get the red flashing motor LED’s when performing the calibration?
Hello DoomMeister. I did not remove the GPS card from the cover and found that it was not upside down following the intervention. As I wrote on my previous comments, the calibration always flashes green at the end; only when I want to start the motors does it flash red. That's why I tell myself that it may be a calibration other than that of the compass that is the problem... I thought maybe the RC calibration since there were failures at this level
when returning to service after the winter...
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
7,481
Reaction score
4,317
Location
Genesee, MI USA
I am starting to suspect it may be a failed IMU calibration during aircraft initialization.

Start up the ST16S with the mode switch set to Angle mode and then power on the aircraft after the ST16S is fully booted. Observe the sequence of the motor LED’s and report all the color and flashing combinations.

Also check the area where you select the compass calibration and see if there is one for the IMU or accelerometers.
 
Last edited:

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
3,327
Reaction score
2,583
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
I just looked, with each attempt to start the motors, I have the message in the history: "NOT ARMING: one or more RC sticks not centered"
It sounds like you will need to clean the Stick Potentiometers.
You can check the "RC Monitor" to see which sticks need cleaning, but it's best to clean all of them anyway. You may be able to clear the problem just by vigorous stirring of the sticks, but more likely you will need to actually clean the sticks.

This video by @Steve Carr shows how to check the "RC Monitor". (H3 is the same as HPlus).

This video shows a way to spray in some contact cleaner without removing the rear cover. It is often effective and may clear the problem:

If needed, the first 3 minutes of this video shows how to remove the back of the controller:

This document by @DoomMeister shows general maintenance points for the gimbals, including a mention of the small hole to spray in some plastic safe contact cleaner:

Please let us know if cleaning the sticks works, and we can work from there.

Note it is not recommended to use the stick calibration procedure to clear the problem. The stick calibration procedure may temporarily mask the issue and make it appear the problem is resolved, but the problem may re-appear at any time. Including during a flight which can cause serious control problems.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Age
43
I have (I had until yesterday, it could come back) also the messages in red in the history during the calibrations of the compass "Check for geom. interf."
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
3,327
Reaction score
2,583
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
I have (I had until yesterday, it could come back) also the messages in red in the history during the calibrations of the compass "Check for geom. interf."
The stick issue and the geomatic interference issues are not related. There is hope the Geomatic issue may have been resolved, or at least mitigated, by your earlier actions. Once the sticks are performing normally, we can better address any remaining issues.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Age
43
Ok, thank you very much for this information, I will look at it tomorrow, because in France, it is evening... In fact, I must have had 2 problems, the magnetization problem of the compass (I will do a calibration anyway tomorrow to see if it gives me the message) but also and especially this problem of sticks; besides, I don't understand why, I handle them with care, I'm very careful when I put away my RC, it's weird... I see all that tomorrow and I'll let you know. Really thank you, you are all very good advice and very helpful.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
3
Age
43
Do you mean you see no response in "RC Monitor" when you move the sticks? If so, it may indicate a firmware problem that has been seen a few times before.
I just looked in RC monitor, I actually have a problem in J4 which is very slow and does not exceed 50 or -50; no problem with J1, J2 and J3
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
7,481
Reaction score
4,317
Location
Genesee, MI USA
I just looked in RC monitor, I actually have a problem in J4 which is very slow and does not exceed 50 or -50; no problem with J1, J2 and J3
I would advise opening the back and cleaning with the stick gimbal removed from the ST16S. This could also be an issue with the connectors for the wiring harness of the gimbal so removing, spraying with plastic safe contact cleaner, and reinstalling may help.

The stick gimbals are identical and can be swapped with each other so if cleaning does not make any improvement swapping them will help isolate the problem to the gimbal or the circuitry.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Anthony from France

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
20,421
Messages
236,299
Members
25,596
Latest member
yingxoxo2022