Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Connecting an iPad as a second display

Joined
Mar 5, 2016
Messages
96
Reaction score
23
Age
52
I'm looking at ways you can connect the ST16 to an iPad for clients to view. If anyone is using duet display or hdmi to do this would be awesome. Novice with iPad so keep laughter to a minimum. Cheers all.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2016
Messages
96
Reaction score
24
Age
67
You can just WIFI it to the Drone if you want. I have done that for dual displays using the CG03 APP. works great. I have not tried the HDMI connector
 
  • Like
Reactions: yuneec53
Joined
Mar 5, 2016
Messages
96
Reaction score
23
Age
52
Oh tell me more! WiFi connection and using an app.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2016
Messages
1,358
Reaction score
959
Age
56
Location
Ottawa, Canada
You can just WIFI it to the Drone if you want. I have done that for dual displays using the CG03 APP. works great. I have not tried the HDMI connector
If you do it via wifi the range would be extremely small as the iPad contains no antenna as per the ST16.

You can get an HDMI to iPad connector. But I'm sure I've seen people report that the screen on the ST16 goes black if you plug in an HDMI cable. Also I think you'd require some type of video input App on the iPad to accept the incoming video signal from the ST16 via the HDMI to iPad cable.
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2016
Messages
96
Reaction score
23
Age
52
If you do it via wifi the range would be extremely small as the iPad contains no antenna as per the ST16.

You can get an HDMI to iPad connector. But I'm sure I've seen people report that the screen on the ST16 goes black if you plug in an HDMI cable. Also I think you'd require some type of video input App on the iPad to accept the incoming video signal from the ST16 via the HDMI to iPad cable.
That's is what I was thinking

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2016
Messages
96
Reaction score
24
Age
67
Interesting Capt, I just tested it in my back yard. I will check wifi range next time I fly if someone does not beat me to it.
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2016
Messages
96
Reaction score
23
Age
52
Interesting Capt, I just tested it in my back yard. I will check wifi range next time I fly if someone does not beat me to it.
Cool I would be happy to see it. Top work guys

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Age
39
You can get an HDMI to iPad connector. But I'm sure I've seen people report that the screen on the ST16 goes black if you plug in an HDMI cable. Also I think you'd require some type of video input App on the iPad to accept the incoming video signal from the ST16 via the HDMI to iPad cable.
From what I understand, the HDMI to Lightning adapter is for HDMI OUTPUT from the iPad, *not* input. So the rest of what you've reported doesn't really matter.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
862
Reaction score
224
Age
69
I'm looking at ways you can connect the ST16 to an iPad for clients to view. If anyone is using duet display or hdmi to do this would be awesome. Novice with iPad so keep laughter to a minimum. Cheers all.
Hi. just download the free CGO3+ app to the Ipad and connect to the "H" via WiFi Works like a dream! Forget cabels etc..
 
  • Like
Reactions: Skypicswa
Joined
Mar 5, 2016
Messages
96
Reaction score
23
Age
52
Hi. just download the free CGO3+ app to the Ipad and connect to the "H" via WiFi Works like a dream! Forget cabels etc..
That's the 2nd one to say it and that's what I'm trying first. A big thank you to everyone

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
294
Reaction score
99
i don't think it work with android

with hdmi cable an external monitor both monitors work
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
862
Reaction score
224
Age
69
That's the 2nd one to say it and that's what I'm trying first. A big thank you to everyone

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Don't forget to connect the Ipad to the CGO3+ Wifi. Then click on the very small square at the bottom when you've open the app.
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2016
Messages
96
Reaction score
23
Age
52
Don't forget to connect the Ipad to the CGO3+ Wifi. Then click on the very small square at the bottom when you've open the app.
What's needed on ST16 just WiFi and cgo3+ app? Or just WiFi

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Age
39
What's needed on ST16 just WiFi and cgo3+ app? Or just WiFi

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
You don't need to do anything on ST16 for this - the app connects directly to the CGO3 camera.

The functionality is limited to the camera (i.e. you can see what's there and control the shutter, white balance, etc.) and you can't adjust the gimbal or the flight path.

I believe the app was intended for use primarily as the viewfinder when you're using the steadicam thing that the Q500's came with.
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2016
Messages
96
Reaction score
23
Age
52
Ok cool. So I'll have the same signal strength to ST16 and iPad. It's all I need so clients can view what the camera sees. No need for a monitor or power that's sweet. Cheers mate

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
16,800
Messages
196,035
Members
19,489
Latest member
tmhicks