Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Does Yuneec make high altitude props for the typhoon H?

Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Age
56
Hello, I live at 10,000 feet in Colorado. My Typhoon H dose fly okay up here but really uses up the battery fast, less than 10 minutes. Dose anyone make high altitude props for the H? Also does anyone know the maximum elevation the H can operate at? Thanks
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Age
56
Okay, thanks for the info. I wonder if it is set up like the Q500 where the motors won’t turn on at a preset elevation. My Q500 is set at 8,000 ft. Above sea level. The Typhoon H does fly well up here at 10k but has a few quirks not apparent at lower altitudes. When landing you need to keep the left stick pulled down to keep it on the ground and reach over with your right hand and press the motor stop button. If you just release the left stick after touching down the H will start to throttle back up and can tip over. This same thing happened to me when flying at high elevation near Taos Mountain in New Mexico.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jjoiner31
Joined
Sep 28, 2020
Messages
456
Reaction score
142
Age
52
Location
Kozloduy, Bulgaria
When landing you need to keep the left stick pulled down to keep it on the ground
Hold the stick in this position for 20 seconds or so and all should be fine. The motors will slow down noticeable. Be ready to put a full-throttle if I'm not right. Depends of the version of the firmvare there are some issues, esecially with RealSense installed. One of them is impossibility to land, which is probably resolved in the last FW version.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2020
Messages
456
Reaction score
142
Age
52
Location
Kozloduy, Bulgaria
Ups, just mentioned. In the final approach use the rabbit position of the limiting slider (the right one). Here is a mistake in the ST16 firmware and the slider limits all in both sides.


... and release the stick slowly!
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Age
56
Ups, just mentioned. In the final approach use the rabbit position of the limiting slider (the right one). Here is a mistake in the ST16 firmware and the slider limits all in both sides.


... and release the stick slowly!
That sounds good, I’ll put the slider on the rabbit, I know that it was in the middle position when I landed last time. I will also try waiting at least the 20 seconds to allow the motors to slow down. Thanks for the advice!
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,409
Reaction score
3,694
Location
Genesee, MI USA
That sounds good, I’ll put the slider on the rabbit, I know that it was in the middle position when I landed last time. I will also try waiting at least the 20 seconds to allow the motors to slow down. Thanks for the advice!
This document Guide to reading Flightlog data UPDATED 1/28/21 will help explain why the rate slider should be in Rabbit during the landing sequence. It is a little counterintuitive that Rabbit will stop the drone from hopping on landing.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NWSaint

Yuneec Skins

The Yuneec Parts Guy
Approved Vendor
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 4, 2019
Messages
330
Reaction score
447
Location
Citrus Heights, CA
Website
yuneecskins.com
I have 1-Set of Maytech Carbon Fiber Props left in stock, that is probably the Only Alternative available.
The Air is pretty thin at 10,000 feet, the Carbon Fiber Props won't flatten out like the OEM Props, it may Help a little.
Link to Carbon Fiber Props,
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2020
Messages
456
Reaction score
142
Age
52
Location
Kozloduy, Bulgaria
Some theory related to the topic.

A PROPELLER DESIGN AND ANALYSIS CAPABILITY EVALUATION FOR HIGH ALTITUDE APPLICATION

in the attachment.
 

Attachments

  • 39668395.pdf
    3.1 MB · Views: 21
Joined
Feb 3, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Age
56
I have 1-Set of Maytech Carbon Fiber Props left in stock, that is probably the Only Alternative available.
The Air is pretty thin at 10,000 feet, the Carbon Fiber Props won't flatten out like the OEM Props, it may Help a little.
Link to Carbon Fiber Props,
Thanks for the information.👍
 
  • Like
Reactions: Yuneec Skins
Joined
Jul 19, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
52
Okay, thanks for the info. I wonder if it is set up like the Q500 where the motors won’t turn on at a preset elevation. My Q500 is set at 8,000 ft. Above sea level. The Typhoon H does fly well up here at 10k but has a few quirks not apparent at lower altitudes. When landing you need to keep the left stick pulled down to keep it on the ground and reach over with your right hand and press the motor stop button. If you just release the left stick after touching down the H will start to throttle back up and can tip over. This same thing happened to me when flying at high elevation near Taos Mountain in New Mexico.
I have a Q500 and I am in the Sangre De Cristo mountains .

is there any way around the 8,000 ft. Limits?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
52
Okay, thanks for the info. I wonder if it is set up like the Q500 where the motors won’t turn on at a preset elevation. My Q500 is set at 8,000 ft. Above sea level. The Typhoon H does fly well up here at 10k but has a few quirks not apparent at lower altitudes. When landing you need to keep the left stick pulled down to keep it on the ground and reach over with your right hand and press the motor stop button. If you just release the left stick after touching down the H will start to throttle back up and can tip over. This same thing happened to me when flying at high elevation near Taos Mountain in New Mexico.
Is there anyway around the 8,000 ft. Limit on the Q500?
 

h-elsner

Premium Pilot
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
1,319
Reaction score
961
Location
Bavaria / Germany
There is a special FW for the Q500 that has the 8000ft limitation removed: Q500_v1.07_10_05_2015_no_max_altitude.bin

Here you can download it:

br HE
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,755
Messages
228,756
Members
23,698
Latest member
iVueRoboTech