Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Drone noob from Virginia

Reaction score
Greetings!

My name is Neal. I'm 49. I like long walks on the beach and my belly rubbed....

Oops sorry, wrong board!

I'm new to drones. I gifted myself a Tello for Christmas and I was bitten by the drone bug. I just purchased a Q500 because at current prices, I figured now would be a good time to get something I could enjoy. I'm actually going this weekend to a "drone fly." I hope the weather cooperates because I'm looking forward to meeting other drone pilots.

I'm located in the Shenandoah Valley - Virginia. There is a national park nearby and I am within 5 miles of an (uncontrolled airspace) airport, but other than that there are still plenty of places to fly.

I want to get my 107 but right now, just recreational. I'm interested in doing drone video/photography for profit. I have a lot of friends that are real estate agents!

Looking forward to getting to know people here on the forum!

Hello: Ok, I was a little concerned at first.... but. well, who doesn't like their belly rubbed. \i understand about the drone bug. I started with a Syma X5, then a few toy drones, then my Q500 4K (Great Bird), a Millennium Falcon, An X-wing, Tello (fun!) then my newest baby, an H. yup, seriously infected. This hobby can suck you in, but, keeps you out of the bar! Welcome to the forum!

Another Virginian here. I hate the beach though. Probably because I live right by it. Haha. I'm down in Chesapeake, close to the NC line. I recently got my 107 certification. I highly recommend King Schools UAV ground school. I went through the class 1 time and got a 93% on my test.

@ChuckBridges Thanks for the welcome! I've been to BC, but not Alberta. The Great White North is a beautiful place for photography!!!