Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

flight boundaries

HRC

Reaction score
I am a senior digital media student and I am currently making an aerial video of our school for the school website.

If I am flying only above the school grounds and taking off and landing from the school grounds, do I still need to request permission from, or inform businesses who are within 50 meters of the school even though I am staying within the schools boundaries?

I am a senior digital media student and I am currently making an aerial video of our school for the school website.

If I am flying only above the school grounds and taking off and landing from the school grounds, do I still need to request permission from, or inform businesses who are within 50 meters of the school even though I am staying within the schools boundaries?
Depends on whether you are flying with PfCO exemptions and whether the school is in a congested area.

My suspicion is that the school is in a congested area. The fact that you are talking about businesses within 50m of the school property makes me think this. Assuming that you are not a PfCO holder then you may not fly anywhere within 150m of a congested area even if you are taking off from private land. On the other hand, If you do hold a PfCO (I suspect not otherwise you would not be asking the question) then you may fly within a congested area so long as you stay 50m away from public, structures, dwellings, etc, not under your control (30m during take-off and landing phases). Don't forget: It's not just the buildings/businesses that make a congested area...you also need to consider the public going to and from those businesses. You cannot block a public right of way.