Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Intermittent J1 not working properly

Reaction score
This has happened now at least every 4th flight. I have flown and am ready to land. I pull J1 down to land and it takes FOREVER to come down. (The last time i was 30 feet up and it took 68 seconds to come down) I finally get it to land and the lost GPS message appears on the st16. Within 3 seconds it aquires GPS and I am good to go. This scares me.

I have cleaned the contacts on the joysticks and ALWAYS verify the hardware joysticks and switches before flying. I always have at least 12 sats on the bird and 9 or more on the st16 before I turn the motors on.

Since I am new to this particular unit can I shut off the gps and manually "fly" (land) the drone without problems?
Second question this unit is in warranty ... should I contact Yuneec for service?

thank you

This has happened now at least every 4th flight. I have flown and am ready to land. I pull J1 down to land and it takes FOREVER to come down. (The last time i was 30 feet up and it took 68 seconds to come down) I finally get it to land and the lost GPS message appears on the st16. Within 3 seconds it aquires GPS and I am good to go. This scares me.

I have cleaned the contacts on the joysticks and ALWAYS verify the hardware joysticks and switches before flying. I always have at least 12 sats on the bird and 9 or more on the st16 before I turn the motors on.

Since I am new to this particular unit can I shut off the gps and manually "fly" (land) the drone without problems?
Second question this unit is in warranty ... should I contact Yuneec for service?

thank you
Prior to trying anything contact Yuneec. What you're experiencing is definitely abnormal. Doing any sort of maintenance or flying in a manner not proscribed by Yuneec could invalidate your warranty.

Ron's points are what I am thinking also.