Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

MANTIS Q GPS PROBLEM

Joined
Jul 21, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
45
Hi my GPS on the drone does not come up while flying outdoors. It says that I have 20 satellites but shows flying indoors (It should be flying outdoors when the drone senses the satellites) I have tried to recalibrate the drone a few times in an open field, it will be okay. But then when I have to fly, it's indoors.

What is the problem?
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,824
Reaction score
3,942
Location
The Villages, FL USA
Does your screen look like this?
B3A1DDF4-08B2-484F-97FA-EEEA6DCE2483.jpg
Where GPS shows “green” but the aircraft shows IPS.

Check Settings for the Aircraft and make sure IPS is not turned on.
42ABB29E-4DA5-4614-894A-BC4B9E68A839.jpg

It could be an issue where you are picking up several satellites, but do not have good enough positioning to enter a GPS acquired state so it remains in IPS mode.

How long has it been since the Mantis was last flown? There is a backup battery on the GPS board that can deplete and you end up doing a cold GPS acquisition every power up until the battery charges enough to retain the GPS almanac data.
2C17CBCA-B929-49EE-966F-A1121E631366.jpeg
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
45
Hi,
IPS mode is off. When I fly outdoors, I get between 18-22 satellites, the drone is in contact. When I start flying, it says indoor flight. Although I have many satellites connected. I have tried to calibrate according to instructions a few times, but the same problem.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
45
I fly several times a month. But the error has occurred in the last 5 flights. How do I delete the back up memory to GPS?
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2021
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
45
I've just been out flying with my drone. When I start, it says the drone is connected. When I start flying, it's says in flight. But it seems like the GPS is on anyway. Because when I press the return home button, the drone flies to the starting point.
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,824
Reaction score
3,942
Location
The Villages, FL USA
What I see in the first photo from you shows that the GPS is working. You have a good count and the icon is green. The aircraft shows it is in Angle mode for flight. If it were in Indoor mode it would say IPS instead of Angle and if GPS was not stabilizing the aircraft it would say Manual and the GPS would be yellow or red.

It does look like the connection between the controller and the aircraft may be weak as there are no signal bars on the Controller icon.

There is no way to flush the GPS memory other than letting the system stay idle until the backup battery gets to low to retain the information in memory. You don’t want that to happen anyway. It is preferable to retain the euphemism data for the GPS. You get a fix much faster that way.
 
Last edited:

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
20,050
Messages
231,867
Members
24,397
Latest member
AllStarBPO