Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Rather disappointed in CCC

Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
495
Reaction score
201
A couple of days ago I set up a Cable Cam route that went out about 1000 feet
at 120 feet altitude and made a large circle and back, then saved it.

I pulled that route up today to fly it and as it began I noticed it was flying
a lot lower, maybe 70-80 feet high. I let it continue even though I new
it was going to put a large tree between me and the H.

I though it would be flying autonomously per what I read.

Sure enough as it went behind the tree I lost all video and rc link.

I waited about two minutes for it to emerge from behind the tree, nothing.

Finally I walk down to the end of the block to see around the tree and there
is the H just hovering where it lost rc connections.

If it was really flying autonomously it would have continued its route.

I was really disappointed it didn't at least initiate RTH with a lost signal
for over two minutes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bobjazz
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Messages
483
Reaction score
151
Age
74
Location
STATEN ISLAND NEW YORK
A couple of days ago I set up a Cable Cam route that went out about 1000 feet
at 120 feet altitude and made a large circle and back, then saved it.

I pulled that route up today to fly it and as it began I noticed it was flying
a lot lower, maybe 70-80 feet high. I let it continue even though I new
it was going to put a large tree between me and the H.

I though it would be flying autonomously per what I read.

Sure enough as it went behind the tree I lost all video and rc link.

I waited about two minutes for it to emerge from behind the tree, nothing.

Finally I walk down to the end of the block to see around the tree and there
is the H just hovering where it lost rc connections.

If it was really flying autonomously it would have continued its route.

I was really disappointed it didn't at least initiate RTH with a lost signal
for over two minutes.
hi
fly in line of sight , you lucked out it could have been a different story , a flyaway or crash into a tree . it's not worth you loosing your new H .
fly safe
 
  • Like
Reactions: Forrestt
Joined
May 12, 2016
Messages
71
Reaction score
34
Age
57
So far every time I have used CCC mode has work flawless and match height perfectly. Have always used in a open area with no obstructions.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
A couple of days ago I set up a Cable Cam route that went out about 1000 feet
at 120 feet altitude and made a large circle and back, then saved it.

I pulled that route up today to fly it and as it began I noticed it was flying
a lot lower, maybe 70-80 feet high. I let it continue even though I new
it was going to put a large tree between me and the H.

I though it would be flying autonomously per what I read.

Sure enough as it went behind the tree I lost all video and rc link.

I waited about two minutes for it to emerge from behind the tree, nothing.

Finally I walk down to the end of the block to see around the tree and there
is the H just hovering where it lost rc connections.

If it was really flying autonomously it would have continued its route.

I was really disappointed it didn't at least initiate RTH with a lost signal
for over two minutes.
Disable Smart Mode !!! LOL !!! When signal is lost , it will not fly any further, but you are correct, It should have RTH, Good thing you didn't find it in a tree though ! Glad for you it didn't !;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Forrestt
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
495
Reaction score
201
Disable Smart Mode !!! LOL !!! When signal is lost , it will not fly any further, but you are correct, It should have RTH, Good thing you didn't find it in a tree though ! Glad for you it didn't !;)
How long does RTH take to initiate without a signal?
Kind of worrisome if it does not work like it suppose to.
 
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
221
Reaction score
51
Location
SF Bay Area, California
A couple of days ago I set up a Cable Cam route that went out about 1000 feet
at 120 feet altitude and made a large circle and back, then saved it.

I pulled that route up today to fly it and as it began I noticed it was flying
a lot lower, maybe 70-80 feet high. I let it continue even though I new
it was going to put a large tree between me and the H.

I though it would be flying autonomously per what I read.

Sure enough as it went behind the tree I lost all video and rc link.

I waited about two minutes for it to emerge from behind the tree, nothing.

Finally I walk down to the end of the block to see around the tree and there
is the H just hovering where it lost rc connections.

If it was really flying autonomously it would have continued its route.

I was really disappointed it didn't at least initiate RTH with a lost signal
for over two minutes.
Hmmm, interesting. I was under the impression that CCC mode was autonomous as well. From your experience, it doesn't appear to be. And why didn't it RTH? It's probably good that it didn't, else you would've ended up in a tree :eek:, but still. I'm confused :confused:
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
Jimmylee, where you flying higher than the tree? I know you said you were 70-80 feet, but could not see the H behind the tree, It is maybe a Blessing that it did not RTH, Because if the tree was taller, it may have RTT(Return to Tree) Instead ! LOL:(
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
495
Reaction score
201
Jimmylee, where you flying higher than the tree? I know you said you were 70-80 feet, but could not see the H behind the tree, It is maybe a Blessing that it did not RTH, Because if the tree was taller, it may have RTT(Return to Tree) Instead ! LOL:(
The tree was closer to me and the H would have cleared.
I was without rc signal for two minutes because both video and rc said trying to connect.
Suks that RTH don't work like it suppose to.
After I walked down the block to see around tree it connected and I flew it home.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
495
Reaction score
201
Hmmm, interesting. I was under the impression that CCC mode was autonomous as well. From your experience, it doesn't appear to be. And why didn't it RTH? It's probably good that it didn't, else you would've ended up in a tree :eek:, but still. I'm confused :confused:
Yes I was under that impression also but had my doubts and now confirmed.
Yuneec and DJI have different idea what autonomous means.
DJI - uploads waypint mission, no rc link needed.
Yuneec - no user input needed, but need rc link.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bobjazz
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
221
Reaction score
51
Location
SF Bay Area, California
Yes I was under that impression also but had my doubts and now confirmed.
Yuneec and DJI have different idea what autonomous means.
DJI - uploads waypint mission, no rc link needed.
Yuneec - no user input needed, but need rc link.
Yup, sounds like your right. RC is still controlling the aircraft. Not fully autonomous.
 

Goh

Joined
Apr 20, 2016
Messages
220
Reaction score
37
Age
56
A couple of days ago I set up a Cable Cam route that went out about 1000 feet
at 120 feet altitude and made a large circle and back, then saved it.

I pulled that route up today to fly it and as it began I noticed it was flying
a lot lower, maybe 70-80 feet high. I let it continue even though I new
it was going to put a large tree between me and the H.

I though it would be flying autonomously per what I read.

Sure enough as it went behind the tree I lost all video and rc link.

I waited about two minutes for it to emerge from behind the tree, nothing.

Finally I walk down to the end of the block to see around the tree and there
is the H just hovering where it lost rc connections.

If it was really flying autonomously it would have continued its route.

I was really disappointed it didn't at least initiate RTH with a lost signal
for over two minutes.
Please feed back this to Yuneec for improvement .when lost signal the RTH should auto activated
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
16,633
Messages
193,907
Members
19,301
Latest member
Shoo