Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

RF Update Fail!

Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
31
Reaction score
24
Location
Pacific Beach, CA
So, I've had my Hpro for about 1 1/2 years and it's been just about flawless. Any issues have typically been user error. Nevertheless, a month or so ago, I had an issue with the controller not binding to the craft, I could get the camera bound no problem. So I did a controller reset, wiped the App cache and started fresh. That seemed to do the trick for a bit but then I had the issue again and no resetting of anything would allow me to bind the craft (yes, the craft was tilted forward until orange blinking lights start). So, I decided to reload firmware, downloaded a fresh copy from Yuneec. However, despite many attempts and resets, still no joy. I get RF Update Fail! If I select yes it then tries to load TX update followed by the expected reset of the controller. But again, unsuccessful. If I select "No" when I get the RF Update Fail! error then it just resets. I have a second st16 that is for parts and more or less junk but at least it will bind to craft.

I'd certainly appreciate your thoughts.

IMG_20200520_163837.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200520_163847.jpg
    IMG_20200520_163847.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 20
  • IMG_20200520_163906.jpg
    IMG_20200520_163906.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 20
  • IMG_20200520_164835.jpg
    IMG_20200520_164835.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 20
  • IMG_20200520_165943.jpg
    IMG_20200520_165943.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 18
  • IMG_20200520_165953.jpg
    IMG_20200520_165953.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 18
  • IMG_20200520_170057.jpg
    IMG_20200520_170057.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 16

Eagle's Eye Video

Global Village Idiot
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 16, 2016
Messages
3,010
Reaction score
1,997
Location
Albuquerque NM
Have you attempted to do the update via a microSD card rather than a OTA update? Using an microSD card for updates is standard for the H Pro.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
31
Reaction score
24
Location
Pacific Beach, CA
Yep, in fact I've never even attempted OTA, always used the same SD card, freshly formatted.

Thanks WTFD, that's what I was thinking/afraid of. I've just never busted open an st16. Is RF mod replacement fairly straight forward?
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
2,921
Reaction score
2,236
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
I've just never busted open an st16. Is RF mod replacement fairly straight forward?
Yup. It is pretty much the same as the receiver on a Q500, except no shrink wrap and the wires are cut a lot shorter. It's held to the board by sticky tape. The two antenna connectors snap on/off. The wires just plug in. There is no soldering involved.
This link was the first I found on Youtube. All you need of it is the first few minutes for opening the case:
"
"

This is the 2.4 Ghz RF Module:
2.4 RF Module.jpg
 

John Hennessy

Premium Pilot
Joined
Jun 26, 2017
Messages
421
Reaction score
350
Age
64
Thinkin' about it, I guess I got lucky it didn't happen mid-flight. :)
Hi jmhinsd,
Just reading this thread with interest and knowledge, and thought, at anytime have you started the st16 without the antennas installed. Just a thought, it is said that this can burn out your rf module by accident . Just a possible reason. Johnno Hennessy. Keep flying on the green side of the grass.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Andrew Grant
Joined
Oct 2, 2018
Messages
3,328
Reaction score
1,409
Age
55
Location
Uk
Hi jmhinsd,
Just reading this thread with interest and knowledge, and thought, at anytime have you started the st16 without the antennas installed. Just a thought, it is said that this can burn out your rf module by accident . Just a possible reason. Johnno Hennessy. Keep flying on the green side of the grass.
The amount of times I've seen that on eBay. I don't know why they do it!
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
31
Reaction score
24
Location
Pacific Beach, CA
Hi jmhinsd,
Just reading this thread with interest and knowledge, and thought, at anytime have you started the st16 without the antennas installed. Just a thought, it is said that this can burn out your rf module by accident . Just a possible reason. Johnno Hennessy. Keep flying on the green side of the grass.

Thanks for heads up Johnno but not likely, haven't had a reason to remove them, until now ;)
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,955
Messages
230,840
Members
24,215
Latest member
caphao2477