Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

When to apply a firmware update

Discussion in 'Q500 4K Discussion' started by 308Shooter, Mar 20, 2017.

  1. 308Shooter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,
    I'm completely new to Drone Flying and jumped in feet first. I bought the Q500 this weekend and flew my first flight..... LOVED IT - although I kept it low and close - Crashing and repairs just aren't in the budget at this stage. LOL

    Since I just purchased it, should I apply a Firmware update? How do I know if there is one? I didin't update all my settings (date and tme and such) and the video had a date of 2014 - so I'm assuming this was when the Drone was made??? Surely there's an update available?

    Thought and advice EXTREMELY welcome and appreciated.
     
  2. ChuckBridges

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Lethbridge, Alberta
    If you just purchased it new it should have the latest update. The last update was from 2015 for the Q500 4K and is version 1.07. The date simply defaults to the date of the version of android.

    Have fun... I am..
     
  3. 308Shooter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Chuck. I've read reviews where updates weren't done and the drones decided to revolt and go off on their own. :)

    Are their notifications when there are updates so we know when they should be done?
     
  4. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3,089
    Likes Received:
    1,150
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    Make sure you have a sd card under the battery in the ST10. It can be a 4 or 8GB card, nothing fancy. That is where the telemetry will be recorded.
     
  5. ChuckBridges

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Lethbridge, Alberta
    I haven't had to update so far. They have not updated our drones or base stations since I purchased mine in November
     
  6. Steve Carr

    Steve Carr Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3,089
    Likes Received:
    1,150
    Location:
    Bessemer, MI
    Can you clarify?? There have been several updates since November.
     
  7. ChuckBridges

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Lethbridge, Alberta
    I am only referring to the Q500 4K as that is the one he purchased. There have been no updates since 01/01/2016 on this bird. I am trying not to confuse the issue for 308shooter with the H and other models.The updates on the site are the same ones I saw In November.
     
  8. 308Shooter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys.. I'll confirm my version of the firmware just to be safe. Thanks for the heads up on the SD card in the S10.
     
  9. potatodigger

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.07 is the last, from what I can find
     
  10. potatodigger

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. Ari

    Ari

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Finland
    "If it ain't broken, don't fix it"... :cool:
     
    Eddie Spagetti likes this.
  12. Jafo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Southwest United States
    I've never had a problem with updates myself.
    I also really like the additional speed with the last update.
    Makes keeping up with me a little easier.
    Jmo thanks,
    Jafo
     
  13. 308Shooter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks... I haven't check my version yet. I will say though, 2nd flight was today and fairly windy - I did notice how slow it was moving... I know it's not the fastest drone, but this was at a turtle's pace. And yes - I checked the speed setting on the drone (almost forgot though...)
     
  14. potatodigger

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine has not flown yet.Ihave 1.07 firmware, but st10+ has v01b29c. why not the newest vo1b30c
     
  15. navionflyer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    For what it's worth, I purchased mine as a refurbished unit from Woot.com in February and it did need to have the firmware updated.