Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

  1. sandman

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    So far my Typhoon H has been a huge let down. I decided to go ahead and do the firmware update thinking it may resolve some of my smaller issues. I downloaded the new firmware version 2.10 off Yuneec's site and proceeded to update the H. Once the firmware update was done, I turned it off as instructed in the Yuneec Tutorial Video and then tried to power back on to see if the firmware took. That's when things went from bad to as bad as it can get. The Typhoon H won't boot up when you try to power it on. I get a single audible beep and I can see a series of blue flashing lights coming from inside the H and nothing. Thinking it may be a bad flight battery, I tried the new one I bought a couple of days after receiving the H. Inserted the new battery with a fresh charge into the H, pushed the power button and nothing but a single audible beep followed by nothing. It's bricked alright. No way to unbrick it that I can find since it won't power on at all.

    Oh and a tip I figured out for folks experiencing the issue with the Video Record Button not working unless you press it a bunch of times. Go into the CHANNEL SETTINGS menu and locate the button labeled B4, press B4, Increase the curve settings, Save and exit the menu and try the button again, it should begin recording video with one simple press. Manage to figure that out before I bricked my H.
     
  2. horizontal

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    71

    When I attempted unsuccessfully to download the new firmware I contacted Yuneec support and they explained that they were having trouble with the download and were working on a patch. Said to try after the weekend and they hoped to have it resolved by Tuesday. Hope that will help you get it fixed.
     
  3. sandman

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sadly it won't. The H won't power on now that the firmware is bricked. I have tried holding the power on button down for several minutes to see if I could get the firmware loaded but it's a no-go. I contacted Yuneec and they said if it'd bricked because of firmware, I have to send it in for repair. The rep said they are not replacing units as this time, only repairing. Doesn't instill a lot of confidence to spend over $1500 for the H, backpack, batteries to have to box it up and ship it off after only flying it for one day. I asked if I could please just get a new H and they said no. I am NOT a happy camper right now. I have supported Yuneec going back to the first Q500. My warm and fuzzy feeling about the brand is disappearing real quick.
     
  4. Sticks

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Denver area
    Not replacing units because there are no units available to replace with.

    You could insist on a new unit, then wait for a couple months for them to have the inventory available to send a NIB replacement, after all of their customer (distributors) orders are fulfilled.

    Having said that, from what I have gathered from others that have had to send theirs in, they have a very fast turnaround.

    If your FW is corrupted, and no other damage (nothing melted or fried), it is an easy fix since they have the computer and software to hook up and re-flash it.
     
    davinci440 likes this.
  5. Gyro108

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    West Midlands, UK
    Thanks for this, I was having the same problem with the camera button B3 which is working now.
     
  6. n3srj

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    suncoast of florida
    This may or may not help you....Have you tried hooking up your H to your pc via the GUI program and usb cord. The H will power up without a power button push just by hooking it up via the usb cable.

    Noticed that when i did my firmware upgrade last weekend.
     
  7. sandman

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes, I have tried hooking up via USB and it won't do anything. When you plug the micro USB into the belly of the H, you can see a blue light on the flight control board but that's it. You can press the power button all day long and still one beep followed by nothing.
     
  8. yuneec53

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    london UK
    This must be the best tip on the Forum. You deserve a prize for finding it. After I updated the Firmware twice my buttons still had a problem. But not now. Hope you get a good conclusion to your problem.
     
    AJDroneOn, The Quad Father and JohnL like this.
  9. sandman

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Glad I could provide some help. Now to get my H un-bricked or replaced. ;)
     
  10. Basicbill

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Northeastern Illinois USA
    My H functioned fine both before and after the firmware update.
     
    davinci440 likes this.
  11. SkyDoctor

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    17
    What is the latest firmware for the H?
     
  12. horizontal

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    71
    A discussion is contained in the Thread listed "firmware info". Has the latest data.
     
  13. SkyDoctor

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    17
    Thanks for the reply.
     
  14. n3srj

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    suncoast of florida
    Does the GUI show any functions when your connected via the usb cable?
     
  15. BobW55

    BobW55 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Melvin Michigan, In the thumb
    You have to HOLD the power button on.
     
  16. sandman

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes, I know that. I flew it 4 successful flights before I started having trouble. I have pushed it for every time span I can think of. I am a long time Yuneec user and pretty well schooled in how their birds work I have pushed and held the power up to 3 minutes, It is bricked! When firmware bricks on install, the bird has corrupt operating instructions and it doesn't know what to do when the firmware is only half written. You push the button, it doesn't know to do the boot up routine.
     
  17. BobW55

    BobW55 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Melvin Michigan, In the thumb
    I know what you mean, Bricked a cell phone or two in my day when I was ROOTING them.
    Be curious to see Yuneec response. Sucks that it was a holiday and you have to wait.
     
  18. Paladin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    I am new to Yuneec but from everything I have read, they will take care of you. You may be without for a week or so but they will address your issue I am sure. Same cannot be said from "other" companies. :)

    I posted to thank you for the button tip as well. I was actually going to do that anyway as it makes sense. :)
     
  19. sandman

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Agreed Paladin. Yuneec CS has always been exceptional which is why I stuck with them for so long. I have owned every model of Q500 since the very first units came out. I was a very early adopter of the Q500. I currently have two Q500 4K's in my fleet and love them to death. Reliable, Dependable, stable, and predictable and they are so easy to repair. That's why I feel so let down with the H. I had high expectations of quality given my past Yuneec purchases.
     
  20. Gyro108

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    West Midlands, UK
    WARNING - Don't do this if you are having problems with the camera button B3, My B1 (red arm) button now does not work and looking in the settings throttle,B1 and B3 are all linked. It is definately problem with the ST16 as I can put the H into team mode and arm with the wizard.

    I emailed Yuneec UK last night about the problem and have just had a call from them to tell me they are on the case - Brilliant service.