Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Battery Drain Issue

Reaction score
I fly the H520 with the E50/E90/CGOET package for a government agency and ever since the July 2018 big update we are only getting 17 minutes of flight time with our batteries. We started out with 5 batteries that were being flown and I know that the flight times averaged roughly 23 minutes with 30% remaining. But suddenly after an update our batteries aren't lasting. I can fly 17 minutes and be at 20% now. We purchased another brand new battery and it's experiencing the exact same battery drain issue. I've discussed this with our vendor and they are just as perplexed as we are. I've been researching this for the last several months and so far I have yet to come up with a solution.
Have any other agencies been experiencing battery drain issues in flight and how have you remedied the problem?

It is possible the firmware update changed the percentage calculation. It's one reason I prefer battery voltage readings rather than a percentage. It's not an option on the 520 or the H Plus, but it does make sense to measure voltage before and after a flight. That is the only way to know for sure the batteries are getting a full charge.

You could also install the older firmware to check if this was changed during the update.

Reactions: Phaedrus