Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

CG03 vs CG03+ update bought the plus

Reaction score
BOUGHT THE CG03+

Simple really, I need a replacement for my typhoon H bird. I am a hobbyist. But realize most of the hype over 4k is useless. 4k TV no 4K programming etc. So my question is not how much better that + makes it. But the CG03 is listed for the Q500. Will it work on the H? Because that little + adds a good bit on the price. And since it is not commercial use. I have no need for it. Can I use it as a direct replacement on my typhoon H?

I did search forums here, tried YouTube and Google too. Not found it broached anywhere. Any advice is appreciated.

Last edited:
The main difference between the CGO3 and CGO3+ is the 360° gimbal of the 3+. The camera itself is more or less the same. There are a few differences on the internal parts but sensor, processor and lens are identical. The CGO3 still has a 3-axis gimbal but it can only turn about 45° left and right.

The CGO3 is working on the Typhoon H if you get the version with the contact plates. There is no connector for the wire on the H so you will not be able to connect it the way you did on the older Q500 versions. Modifying a "non contact plate version" to a "contact plate version" is pretty simple but you need a contact plate of a broken CGO3+ (like I did) or the original part.

Tilt is working when mounted on the Typhoon H while pan is not.

Yes, you can replace the CGO3+ with the CGO3. The ST16 will claim a too old Firmware, but this can just be ignored.

Disadvantage: No more 360° pan. Tasks (like orbit, POI etc.) will not working anymore, sensor files will be empty, no gimbal calibration, no updates for camera & gimbal (except manual with SD card).
Advantage: Faster connection to WLAN.

CGO3 is also a 4K camera but you can set lower resolution.

br HE