Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

charge YP3A battery outside the ST16?

Joined
Aug 13, 2016
Messages
69
Reaction score
7
Age
50
Dusting off my old bird and the controller battery doesn't charge fast or good in the ST16. Heard that some folks have had issues charging it in the controller (mine does charge in the controller through the supplied usb cable but is sloooooooooow) and charged it externally with a charger.

I''d like to charge this along with the big batteries with my Venom Pro Quad charger but I do not have the correct adapter. This looks like an EC3 connector but its way smaller. Does anyone know what dongle I need to connect it to my Venom charger?

Thanks in advance,

Mike G
Eagle Nest NM
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2016
Messages
69
Reaction score
7
Age
50
Dusting off my old bird and the controller battery doesn't charge fast or good in the ST16. Heard that some folks have had issues charging it in the controller (mine does charge in the controller through the supplied usb cable but is sloooooooooow) and charged it externally with a charger.

I''d like to charge this along with the big batteries with my Venom Pro Quad charger but I do not have the correct adapter. This looks like an EC3 connector but its way smaller. Does anyone know what dongle I need to connect it to my Venom charger?

Thanks in advance,

Mike G
Eagle Nest NM
Looks like its an EC2, these look like they will work

 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
7,513
Reaction score
4,354
Location
Genesee, MI USA
The YP3A uses Li-ion cells, not LiPo cells, so it does not need to be put in storage mode.
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
8,308
Reaction score
4,797
Location
Bessemer, MI
It does use an EC2 connector.
When charging in the controller I leave it connected overnight and it always reaches full charge.

 
  • Like
Reactions: photomike72

DCH

Dr. FrankenPhoon
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
898
Reaction score
921
Age
75
Location
Olympic Peninsula
Speaking of dusting off the old bird, Just bought a couple of new batteries for my Plus, so that's exactly what I'm doing. ...Along with dusting off the old pilot, and the old coffin I've been sleeping in all this time! And speaking of charging the YP3A outside the box with a charger, what is a safe charge rate for said battery? The USB port on my ST16S is not charging anymore and this is the easiest solution, but I don't want to smoke it. ...Been trying to quit the smoking batteries habit!🚬
 
  • Haha
Reactions: Steve Carr

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
8,308
Reaction score
4,797
Location
Bessemer, MI
what is a safe charge rate for said battery?
You can set the charger to 3 amps. It won't charge any faster than the battery will allow.
After you get it fully charged the controller may start charging it again on the next cycle. Mine do this periodically.

BTW, Glad to see you back in circulation. 🤣 🤣
 
  • Like
Reactions: DCH
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Messages
248
Reaction score
95
Location
Poland
The USB port on my ST16S is not charging anymore
Seems like mine ceased to do so too. I tried to charge st16 battery in the st16 (h520) and in the first instance it discharged the battery and when I spotted it and stopped and re- started the charging it managed to charge it to the half capacity over several hours and nothing is moving forward.
Is there a way to fix it?
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2020
Messages
1,028
Reaction score
355
Age
53
Location
Kozloduy, Bulgaria
Try to charge it when the ST is switched on and share the result, please.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
64
I have the same problem but with an older one.... the one without cable, simply to put in the ST16
 

h-elsner

Premium Pilot
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
1,626
Reaction score
1,229
Location
Bavaria / Germany
Looks like its an EC2, these look like they will work
Yes, it is EC2. It is a 1S LiIon, no need for a storage program. 1C is is mximum. That means 8A charging current. I'm not sure if the battery has a temperature sensor. But I would stay conservative and limit current to 4A.

When you remove the battery time setting in the ST16 is lost.

br HE
 
  • Like
Reactions: Pier2162

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
20,502
Messages
236,868
Members
25,776
Latest member
dinhuong23