Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

E90 1.0.61E ---->1.0.80E update issue

Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
144
Reaction score
32
Location
Italy
Hi everyone .

I'm having some problem updating the E90 from 1.0.61E ---->1.0.80E.
It did update everything ( gimbal, tx , flight control ....ect) without a problem till it got to the the camera update.
The software starts downloading the update , then it upload it to the e90 ( you can actually see the wifi swapping from the access point to e90 . it starts extracting and then flashing the firmware ( no wifi e90 bars are visible while flashing and the red flashing light on the e90 is on ) . Ones it finishs the flashing it just gives me an error after trying to connect back to the e90 " Cant connect to update server.Tap to retry" .
I have t to format the sd card and it starts to work just fine ( with the old firmware)

The card has the dicm folder , the firmware.bin file and a tmp_upload folder containing files with no extension . ( the card is empty at the beginning of the update)

Thanks a lot for your help
Have a great day .
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
2,617
Reaction score
1,961
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
It sounds like it's having a little trouble trying to connect to your home (work?) WIFI to do the last version check.

Are you having any performance issues with the Drone/Controller/Camera?

If not, you can manually connect to your local WIFI via the settings menu, and then run UpdatePilot again to verify you have the current versions actually installed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: aedronix
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
144
Reaction score
32
Location
Italy
It might be ( its a new router) , but it happens always in that precise moment.

my only problem is when the tx has less than 35%/40% battery, the e90 starts making small movement in the pitch axis And they told me, after sending the tx to them, that a firmware update would have fix the problem..... Yesterday after a whole tx battery, the problem was still there so I'm hoping the camera update would fix it.

i have tried the software update from yuneec pilot app and also straight from update pilot.
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
2,617
Reaction score
1,961
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
I would tend to disagree with them that it is a firmware issue.

I do agree with them that it seems more likely to be a controller problem than a camera problem, unless the occurrence relative to controller voltage is a coincidence. (Flight battery voltage would be diminishing at the same time if the events are occurring during flight.)

If it is a controller problem it could be a problem with the gimbal pot or the connector wires.
Have you tried using contact cleaner on the Pots and connectors?
Have you looked at the RC Monitor screen when the TX battery is low to see if K2 is making any visible movement?

It could also be an issue with how the controller hardware is handling internal voltage. I suppose that could be a firmware issue, but more likely a need to replace the main controller board.

If it is a problem with the camera gimbal, the possible hardware issues are abundant. Re-installing the gimbal firmware is not likely to resolve the issue. It will not hurt to try it. But I do not think the latest update (a couple days ago) included a new gimbal update.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
144
Reaction score
32
Location
Italy
i have sent all the unit , transmitter, drone and camera because it could be everything. They sent it back saying it was a software problem.
This was in june. After receiving it back , i had to send the tx back again because they had messed up j3 j4 j1 j2. So they had plenty of time to look at the tx .

By the way, yes, k2 starts to shake when the tx battery gets low, as well as the camera. i did mentioned this too to yuneec . and yesterday k2 started to shake as well as 6 month ago.

I had a gimbal update yesterday but i think it was a "old" one. Not sure because the history update log doesn't work anymore in the yuneec web page.

The copter is actually brand new... due to covid and these problems it has flown just couple if times.
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
2,617
Reaction score
1,961
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
This one of those times it would be great to have a second controller available, so you could swap parts between the two until you find the problem. Without a second controller, you are limited to what Yuneec will do for you. There have been several updates since you first reported the problem almost a year ago. That does not encourage hope that a firmware resolution is on it's way.

Looking through your original thread, I see several others have the same problem. Some have multiple controllers, and the problem exists on each controller. It then occurred to me I seldom have controller battery in that range. I will drain my battery down for awhile, and report back what I see on my controller.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Irish
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
144
Reaction score
32
Location
Italy
Before updating i was reading all the problems pilots had with this last update. i wanted to take a chance .
i was going to buy an extra tx and an extra tx battery but due to pandemia i had to postpone...
ill try again updating the cameralater on, because looking at the wifi adv setting it had some sort of energy saving and smart wifi turned on. ill let you know
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Irish

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
2,617
Reaction score
1,961
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
The experiment was not as revealing as I had hoped. It only shows that not all controllers are affected by low battery voltage. It does invite the question: What is different?

Here is a description of the experiment:
Used three ST16S controllers. K2 is centered for all three controllers. K3 is set to "rabbit" mode for all three controllers. All other switches/controls are set for general flight.

Observed K2 performance at normal battery voltage.
Controller #1. ( Normally used for H520. Running DataPilot version 1.6.97, RC version 0.39.0): K2 Steady at normal battery voltage.
Controller #2. ( Normally used for HPlus. Running Flightmode 2.0, Build 822) K2 Steady at normal battery voltage.
Controller #3. (Normally used for HPlus. For this experiment, swapped to DataPilot 1.6.92, RC version 0.35.0.) K2 Steady at normal battery voltage.

Allowed each to drain battery to 25% Left RC Monitor on screen for each controller.
Observations of K2 on RC Monitor:
Controller #1. (Normally used for H520): K2 remained Steady at all voltage levels.
Controller #2. (Normally used for HPlus): K2 remained Steady at all voltage levels.
Controller #3 (Normally used for HPlus, DataPilot for this experiment): K2 remained Steady at all voltage levels.

This was a very limited experiment, of course. If you will upload a copy of your firmware versions screen, I will try to duplicate your versions as well as I can, and look for any difference in performance. The versions on the normal H520 controller #1 used in this experiment are:
Versions (H520).jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: Max_IT
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
144
Reaction score
32
Location
Italy
Nice ..... thanks a lot for the attempt.
Unfortunately i still not be able to update the camera. I've tried also a different wifi but nothing changed. I'll contact yuneec and ask for the file so i can try manually.
 

Attachments

  • 1612378929132.jpg
    1612378929132.jpg
    6.4 MB · Views: 10

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
2,617
Reaction score
1,961
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
Unfortunately i still not be able to update the camera. I've tried also a different wifi but nothing changed. I'll contact yuneec and ask for the file so i can try manually.
I just loaded an EU version of the Camera Card files on the link below. All you really need is the "fimware.bin" file, but it will not harm anything if you reload the others also. There is also a PDF of the instructions. The PDF was written for the US version. The most notable difference you will see is in the section describing the led patterns while the update is in progress. For the EU firmware, there is a lengthy period of orange flashing that for the US version is only a couple of brief flashes. Be sure to copy the files from the Card 1 noted as (EU) in it's title. Also, this version is ONLY for the E90 camera. I know you have said several times yours is E90, but I just want to be sure.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
144
Reaction score
32
Location
Italy
I just loaded an EU version of the Camera Card files on the link below. All you really need is the "fimware.bin" file, but it will not harm anything if you reload the others also. There is also a PDF of the instructions. The PDF was written for the US version. The most notable difference you will see is in the section describing the led patterns while the update is in progress. For the EU firmware, there is a lengthy period of orange flashing that for the US version is only a couple of brief flashes. Be sure to copy the files from the Card 1 noted as (EU) in it's title. Also, this version is ONLY for the E90 camera. I know you have said several times yours is E90, but I just want to be sure.
Thank you a lot @WTFDproject , I really appreciate it. I'll give it a try tomorrow and let you know if it works .
 

Peggy

Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
424
Reaction score
375
It might be ( its a new router) , but it happens always in that precise moment.

my only problem is when the tx has less than 35%/40% battery, the e90 starts making small movement in the pitch axis And they told me, after sending the tx to them, that a firmware update would have fix the problem..... Yesterday after a whole tx battery, the problem was still there so I'm hoping the camera update would fix it.

i have tried the software update from yuneec pilot app and also straight from update pilot.
 

Peggy

Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
424
Reaction score
375
i have sent all the unit , transmitter, drone and camera because it could be everything. They sent it back saying it was a software problem.
This was in june. After receiving it back , i had to send the tx back again because they had messed up j3 j4 j1 j2. So they had plenty of time to look at the tx .

By the way, yes, k2 starts to shake when the tx battery gets low, as well as the camera. i did mentioned this too to yuneec . and yesterday k2 started to shake as well as 6 month ago.

I had a gimbal update yesterday but i think it was a "old" one. Not sure because the history update log doesn't work anymore in the yuneec web page.

The copter is actually brand new... due to covid and these problems it has flown just couple if times.
I have the solution to the low st16s battery and the camera wobble status. Yuneec UK have reported this problem for over 2 years by their H520 specialist Daniel. Yuneec as a company refuse to fix this problem and it is simply a software issue that affects some st16s controllers, you may be part of the unlucky crew. Here is the fix, but it does affect the smooth control of the camera and is not an ideal solution. Instead of having the camera tilt switch in the up position flick it all the way down so that the camera looks up 30 degree, then lower the camera using the K2 slider and the problem goes away....its that simple. Good luck and I hope that works for you.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
144
Reaction score
32
Location
Italy
I have the solution to the low st16s battery and the camera wobble status. Yuneec UK have reported this problem for over 2 years by their H520 specialist Daniel. Yuneec as a company refuse to fix this problem and it is simply a software issue that affects some st16s controllers, you may be part of the unlucky crew. Here is the fix, but it does affect the smooth control of the camera and is not an ideal solution. Instead of having the camera tilt switch in the up position flick it all the way down so that the camera looks up 30 degree, then lower the camera using the K2 slider and the problem goes away....its that simple. Good luck and I hope that works for you.
Thanks a lot for your help.....

Not sure why they act this way..... ( two years are too much to not solve a problem) .
I ve been emailing them for like 10 days because this problem .They've been really kind and they really tried to fix it ( till i had to stop because i couldn't update the camera to the latest firmware).
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
19,576
Messages
227,087
Members
23,257
Latest member
Kick