Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

E90 1.0.61E ---->1.0.80E update issue

Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
144
Reaction score
32
Location
Italy
Hi everyone .

I'm having some problem updating the E90 from 1.0.61E ---->1.0.80E.
It did update everything ( gimbal, tx , flight control ....ect) without a problem till it got to the the camera update.
The software starts downloading the update , then it upload it to the e90 ( you can actually see the wifi swapping from the access point to e90 . it starts extracting and then flashing the firmware ( no wifi e90 bars are visible while flashing and the red flashing light on the e90 is on ) . Ones it finishs the flashing it just gives me an error after trying to connect back to the e90 " Cant connect to update server.Tap to retry" .
I have t to format the sd card and it starts to work just fine ( with the old firmware)

The card has the dicm folder , the firmware.bin file and a tmp_upload folder containing files with no extension . ( the card is empty at the beginning of the update)

Thanks a lot for your help
Have a great day .
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
3,041
Reaction score
2,374
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
It sounds like it's having a little trouble trying to connect to your home (work?) WIFI to do the last version check.

Are you having any performance issues with the Drone/Controller/Camera?

If not, you can manually connect to your local WIFI via the settings menu, and then run UpdatePilot again to verify you have the current versions actually installed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: aedronix
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
144
Reaction score
32
Location
Italy
It might be ( its a new router) , but it happens always in that precise moment.

my only problem is when the tx has less than 35%/40% battery, the e90 starts making small movement in the pitch axis And they told me, after sending the tx to them, that a firmware update would have fix the problem..... Yesterday after a whole tx battery, the problem was still there so I'm hoping the camera update would fix it.

i have tried the software update from yuneec pilot app and also straight from update pilot.
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
3,041
Reaction score
2,374
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
I would tend to disagree with them that it is a firmware issue.

I do agree with them that it seems more likely to be a controller problem than a camera problem, unless the occurrence relative to controller voltage is a coincidence. (Flight battery voltage would be diminishing at the same time if the events are occurring during flight.)

If it is a controller problem it could be a problem with the gimbal pot or the connector wires.
Have you tried using contact cleaner on the Pots and connectors?
Have you looked at the RC Monitor screen when the TX battery is low to see if K2 is making any visible movement?

It could also be an issue with how the controller hardware is handling internal voltage. I suppose that could be a firmware issue, but more likely a need to replace the main controller board.

If it is a problem with the camera gimbal, the possible hardware issues are abundant. Re-installing the gimbal firmware is not likely to resolve the issue. It will not hurt to try it. But I do not think the latest update (a couple days ago) included a new gimbal update.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
144
Reaction score
32
Location
Italy
i have sent all the unit , transmitter, drone and camera because it could be everything. They sent it back saying it was a software problem.
This was in june. After receiving it back , i had to send the tx back again because they had messed up j3 j4 j1 j2. So they had plenty of time to look at the tx .

By the way, yes, k2 starts to shake when the tx battery gets low, as well as the camera. i did mentioned this too to yuneec . and yesterday k2 started to shake as well as 6 month ago.

I had a gimbal update yesterday but i think it was a "old" one. Not sure because the history update log doesn't work anymore in the yuneec web page.

The copter is actually brand new... due to covid and these problems it has flown just couple if times.
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
3,041
Reaction score
2,374
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
This one of those times it would be great to have a second controller available, so you could swap parts between the two until you find the problem. Without a second controller, you are limited to what Yuneec will do for you. There have been several updates since you first reported the problem almost a year ago. That does not encourage hope that a firmware resolution is on it's way.

Looking through your original thread, I see several others have the same problem. Some have multiple controllers, and the problem exists on each controller. It then occurred to me I seldom have controller battery in that range. I will drain my battery down for awhile, and report back what I see on my controller.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Irish
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
144
Reaction score
32
Location
Italy
Before updating i was reading all the problems pilots had with this last update. i wanted to take a chance .
i was going to buy an extra tx and an extra tx battery but due to pandemia i had to postpone...
ill try again updating the cameralater on, because looking at the wifi adv setting it had some sort of energy saving and smart wifi turned on. ill let you know
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mike Irish

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
3,041
Reaction score
2,374
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
The experiment was not as revealing as I had hoped. It only shows that not all controllers are affected by low battery voltage. It does invite the question: What is different?

Here is a description of the experiment:
Used three ST16S controllers. K2 is centered for all three controllers. K3 is set to "rabbit" mode for all three controllers. All other switches/controls are set for general flight.

Observed K2 performance at normal battery voltage.
Controller #1. ( Normally used for H520. Running DataPilot version 1.6.97, RC version 0.39.0): K2 Steady at normal battery voltage.
Controller #2. ( Normally used for HPlus. Running Flightmode 2.0, Build 822) K2 Steady at normal battery voltage.
Controller #3. (Normally used for HPlus. For this experiment, swapped to DataPilot 1.6.92, RC version 0.35.0.) K2 Steady at normal battery voltage.

Allowed each to drain battery to 25% Left RC Monitor on screen for each controller.
Observations of K2 on RC Monitor:
Controller #1. (Normally used for H520): K2 remained Steady at all voltage levels.
Controller #2. (Normally used for HPlus): K2 remained Steady at all voltage levels.
Controller #3 (Normally used for HPlus, DataPilot for this experiment): K2 remained Steady at all voltage levels.

This was a very limited experiment, of course. If you will upload a copy of your firmware versions screen, I will try to duplicate your versions as well as I can, and look for any difference in performance. The versions on the normal H520 controller #1 used in this experiment are:
Versions (H520).jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: Max_IT
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
144
Reaction score
32
Location
Italy
Nice ..... thanks a lot for the attempt.
Unfortunately i still not be able to update the camera. I've tried also a different wifi but nothing changed. I'll contact yuneec and ask for the file so i can try manually.
 

Attachments

  • 1612378929132.jpg
    1612378929132.jpg
    6.4 MB · Views: 13

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
3,041
Reaction score
2,374
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
Unfortunately i still not be able to update the camera. I've tried also a different wifi but nothing changed. I'll contact yuneec and ask for the file so i can try manually.
I just loaded an EU version of the Camera Card files on the link below. All you really need is the "fimware.bin" file, but it will not harm anything if you reload the others also. There is also a PDF of the instructions. The PDF was written for the US version. The most notable difference you will see is in the section describing the led patterns while the update is in progress. For the EU firmware, there is a lengthy period of orange flashing that for the US version is only a couple of brief flashes. Be sure to copy the files from the Card 1 noted as (EU) in it's title. Also, this version is ONLY for the E90 camera. I know you have said several times yours is E90, but I just want to be sure.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
144
Reaction score
32
Location
Italy
I just loaded an EU version of the Camera Card files on the link below. All you really need is the "fimware.bin" file, but it will not harm anything if you reload the others also. There is also a PDF of the instructions. The PDF was written for the US version. The most notable difference you will see is in the section describing the led patterns while the update is in progress. For the EU firmware, there is a lengthy period of orange flashing that for the US version is only a couple of brief flashes. Be sure to copy the files from the Card 1 noted as (EU) in it's title. Also, this version is ONLY for the E90 camera. I know you have said several times yours is E90, but I just want to be sure.
Thank you a lot @WTFDproject , I really appreciate it. I'll give it a try tomorrow and let you know if it works .
 

Peggy

Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
424
Reaction score
375
It might be ( its a new router) , but it happens always in that precise moment.

my only problem is when the tx has less than 35%/40% battery, the e90 starts making small movement in the pitch axis And they told me, after sending the tx to them, that a firmware update would have fix the problem..... Yesterday after a whole tx battery, the problem was still there so I'm hoping the camera update would fix it.

i have tried the software update from yuneec pilot app and also straight from update pilot.
 

Peggy

Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
424
Reaction score
375
i have sent all the unit , transmitter, drone and camera because it could be everything. They sent it back saying it was a software problem.
This was in june. After receiving it back , i had to send the tx back again because they had messed up j3 j4 j1 j2. So they had plenty of time to look at the tx .

By the way, yes, k2 starts to shake when the tx battery gets low, as well as the camera. i did mentioned this too to yuneec . and yesterday k2 started to shake as well as 6 month ago.

I had a gimbal update yesterday but i think it was a "old" one. Not sure because the history update log doesn't work anymore in the yuneec web page.

The copter is actually brand new... due to covid and these problems it has flown just couple if times.
I have the solution to the low st16s battery and the camera wobble status. Yuneec UK have reported this problem for over 2 years by their H520 specialist Daniel. Yuneec as a company refuse to fix this problem and it is simply a software issue that affects some st16s controllers, you may be part of the unlucky crew. Here is the fix, but it does affect the smooth control of the camera and is not an ideal solution. Instead of having the camera tilt switch in the up position flick it all the way down so that the camera looks up 30 degree, then lower the camera using the K2 slider and the problem goes away....its that simple. Good luck and I hope that works for you.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
144
Reaction score
32
Location
Italy
I have the solution to the low st16s battery and the camera wobble status. Yuneec UK have reported this problem for over 2 years by their H520 specialist Daniel. Yuneec as a company refuse to fix this problem and it is simply a software issue that affects some st16s controllers, you may be part of the unlucky crew. Here is the fix, but it does affect the smooth control of the camera and is not an ideal solution. Instead of having the camera tilt switch in the up position flick it all the way down so that the camera looks up 30 degree, then lower the camera using the K2 slider and the problem goes away....its that simple. Good luck and I hope that works for you.
Thanks a lot for your help.....

Not sure why they act this way..... ( two years are too much to not solve a problem) .
I ve been emailing them for like 10 days because this problem .They've been really kind and they really tried to fix it ( till i had to stop because i couldn't update the camera to the latest firmware).
 
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
25
Reaction score
1
Location
Washington State
Doing this real time:

Just to piggy back on this one, as far as the update to the E90, mine has the same issue updating the camera, as far as it goes through the download, then does the firmware update, and then fails checking for updates, because it doesn't switch from talking to the camera back to the wifi. If I try to go to the screen to turn the wifi connection back on, I lose the window to check for updates. I then lose being able to connect to the camera.

It leaves it with the front two lights are solid white, then the red/green nav, and the back are blinking purple.

If I power cycle the H520, it then see's the camera again, but times out trying to connect to it. After a second try, it fails, and then doesn't list it anymore.

If I pull the battery from the H520, and then hold the power button for 30 seconds, let go, and put the battery back in, and power it up, it still doesn't see the camera.

I have pulled the battery, held the power button, and then turned everything off, and will come back to it later.
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
3,041
Reaction score
2,374
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
Just to piggy back on this one, ...
Some of what you said sounds like a particular H520 quirk. The camera has to be the exact same camera as used for the last/original update or the current camera has to be selected on the update screen itself. The same for your WIFI connection to the internet. Even if both are already properly selected for normal use on the "link management" screen and the WIFI settings screen. Take a look at H520 Update Problem for a more complete discussion. But here is the selection process in a nutshell:
Both.jpg

If re-selecting the camera/WIFI does not work, you can also update the H520 using SD cards. See Attachment 32 (E90/H520 SD Card Firmware Upgrade) of the PDF document attached to Way To Fix Drones project
The latest files used by that attachment were the late January '21 update.
Late January Versions (H520).jpg
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: DoomMeister
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
25
Reaction score
1
Location
Washington State
Some of what you said sounds like a particular H520 quirk. The camera has to be the exact same camera as used for the last/original update or the current camera has to be selected on the update screen itself. The same for your WIFI connection to the internet. Even if both are already properly selected for normal use on the "link management" screen and the WIFI settings screen. Take a look at H520 Update Problem for a more complete discussion. But here is the selection process in a nutshell:
View attachment 27035

If re-selecting the camera/WIFI does not work, you can also update the H520 using SD cards. See Attachment 32 (E90/H520 SD Card Firmware Upgrade) of the PDF document attached to Way To Fix Drones project
The latest files used by that attachment were the late January '21 update.
View attachment 27038
Thanks, I believe that is what I had to do last time I was foolish enough to try to update the camera software.
 
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
25
Reaction score
1
Location
Washington State
Some of what you said sounds like a particular H520 quirk. The camera has to be the exact same camera as used for the last/original update or the current camera has to be selected on the update screen itself. The same for your WIFI connection to the internet. Even if both are already properly selected for normal use on the "link management" screen and the WIFI settings screen. Take a look at H520 Update Problem for a more complete discussion. But here is the selection process in a nutshell:
View attachment 27035

If re-selecting the camera/WIFI does not work, you can also update the H520 using SD cards. See Attachment 32 (E90/H520 SD Card Firmware Upgrade) of the PDF document attached to Way To Fix Drones project
The latest files used by that attachment were the late January '21 update.
View attachment 27038
I got through step1 and 2 fine, but on step 3, it shows the updating TX, turns on and off two or three times quickly, and then stops doing anything. It shows it still has the power on, but the screen stays blanks. Tapping on it doesn't do any good.

I let it sit for a couple minutes, and nothing happened. I turned it off, and back on, and it booted up, and then nothing.

I remember this happening before during updating, and had to take the battery out for quite a while, and eventually when I put it back in, it started booting fine.
 
Last edited:

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
3,041
Reaction score
2,374
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
I got through step1 and 2 fine, but on step 3, it shows the updating TX, turns on and off two or three times quickly, and then stops doing anything. It shows it still has the power on, but the screen stays blanks.
I downloaded a fresh set of files from the repository linked in the guidance, and ran the update on my controller. No issues were noted, indicating the files are OK. The files were only one possible issue, so we need to figure out what is causing the issue. But first, we need to know if the controller restarted after leaving it with the battery out.
 
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
25
Reaction score
1
Location
Washington State
I downloaded a fresh set of files from the repository linked in the guidance, and ran the update on my controller. No issues were noted, indicating the files are OK. The files were only one possible issue, so we need to figure out what is causing the issue. But first, we need to know if the controller restarted after leaving it with the battery out.
This time it looks like that didn't work. Left it unplugged for 6 hours, and it still does the same thing of starts up, fan's spin, it shows the Yuneec logo, and then that goes away, and it hangs. Didn't have the SD in it with the updating software. Put that in, and tried booting again, but the same issue. Though only had the battery out for a couple seconds when trying to boot with the SD card in.

Should probably mention, just for the record, the controller was fully charged before starting this.

If I turn it on, and after the Yuneec logo turns on, I plug it in to my computer (or charger), it shows the Yuneec logo again, flashes 3 times, and then comes up with the battery charging logo, so looks like it starts to boot, then turns off. The light next to the power on switch always stays on. If I tap the screen while plugged in to the charger, it shows the battery charging logo.
 
Last edited:

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
20,119
Messages
232,649
Members
24,614
Latest member
Nhacaibdone88