Welcome to YuneecPilots.com!

Sign up and join the fastest growing Yuneec drone community.

How do I record the ST-16 screen during flight?

Discussion in 'Typhoon H Discussion' started by Brandon Lowe, Jul 23, 2016.

  1. Brandon Lowe

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Eagle ID
    i see all the YouTube videos that include the ST-16 screen but have no idea how they are doing that. So how is that done?
     
  2. Paladin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    I have not played with the new firmware yet but, from what I read, I believe it records automatically when you are recording on the H. Just press the play icon on the ST16 screen to see and play the clips.

    Others can chime in of course as I could be wrong.
     
  3. Brandon Lowe

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Eagle ID
    Thanks I will try that. I have only flown one battery so far. I want to be out flying right now.
     
  4. alsey7

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    88
  5. Paladin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Oh I am sorry, I misread that, you meant screen capturing the St16 screen data etc... Yea exactly like alsey said you need to capture the HDMI video output.

    Sorry about that. i:)i
     
  6. Famousyste

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems that you guys know a lot about screen capturing? Did you ever know the output format - FBR? because recently i used a screen capture program named BB Flashback, also to record HD quality videos. But the output generated by this program was FBR. I could play it in VLC and Windows Media Player. Later I found this article (http://www.videoconverterfactory.com/tips/convert-fbr-to-mp4.html) and it mentioned that i must compressed the FBR to mp4. But I just want to know whether it is the only way to solve this problem? Because i also know that video compression will cause some kind of quality loss (the original video is 720p 60fps which is pretty good) and whether there is an alternative such as changing extension or another better media player?
     
  7. Elmlea

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I recorded the screen using Android Studio on my MacBook, although that meant connecting it via a USB a cable.
     
  8. Ty Pilot

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Central Florida
    I found an HDMI recorder that has great reviews and is less than 70 bucks. However they plainly state that encrypted (HDCP) HDMI is not supported.

    Question: Does anyone know if the output of the ST-16 is encrypted as suck? TIA.
     
  9. Ty Pilot

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Never mind, I went ahead and ordered it and it came today. Works perfectly, apparently the HDCP encryption has to do with certain gaming consoles, the video from our ST-16 does not have that encryption.
     
  10. Gurusonwheels

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    48

    do you mind sharing the name and model of the product .
     
  11. Ty Pilot

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Not at all . . . . Here is a link to it on Amazon - Recorder

    NOTE: The one I received had a Euro style plug on the AC Adapter. In my case, not a problem; as I converted into battery operation so I didn't have too much of an issue but I suspect others may find that it is a deal breaker.

    Recorder.jpg