Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Is the H still a viable choice?

Reaction score
Hi guys.
I've been sitting on the fence for a few years about buying an H pro. I'm coming from some RC helicopter experience and built an F450 quad from parts with an old Tarot flight controller. I'm considering one of the refurbished Typhoons off eBay. Half the price of the H plus.
Does Yuneec still support them with upgrades and firmware/ software support? Or should I just get something newer. The H+ seems really expensive for what you get. I think I would get the Autel Evo2 6k pro for less money and better camera. To be honest, the camera is not the deciding factor. Spare batteries for the H are around $100. The Evo2 battery goes for north of 2 bills!.
I'm not sure if I can fly a UAS around here. I have a regional airport and the Cape Cod national seashore all around me. My helicopters don't have GPS and my drone doesn't recognize NFZ. I've flown at the beach and some local sport fields for years with no problems. I just don't want to spend money on something I can't fly local. My son in law has a Phantom 4 and can only fly it in a few locations.
Thanks for your input and knowledge.
Pete.

The Cape Cod National Seashore is a National Park. So you cannot fly within the boundaries of the Park. However there are significant areas outside of the Park boundaries that are not restricted.
There are also a couple of airports with restricted airspace as shown on the FAA website:
1615618288222.png

Are you looking at new kits or used? There are some very good deals on used kits for both the H and H Plus.
Given the location you plan to fly wind can be an issue with smaller drones. The H Plus is one of the most wind capable drones on the market. Even the H is respectable in the wind but with shorter flight times.