Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Is there a way to turn off/redirect recording images and video on the STS16

Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Messages
263
Reaction score
169
Age
34
Location
Central Florida
I had an issue today that caused my controller to fail during flight, and boot loop the FlightMode 2.0 app because my controller ran out of space from all the images and recordings it stores. I had to shut off the controller and reboot it while the drone performed a RTH due to loss of RC Link. Is a cleaning of the files required for me to perform after each flights or do you guys just push it off to the SD Card after a flight to make sure space is available for Android and FlightMode to run?

Screenshot_2018-10-07-21-31-33.png
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
6,052
Reaction score
2,705
Location
Bessemer, MI
You should not need to delete anything. The system is set up to remove older entries when the amount of storage allocation for a particular folder has been reached. The newer entries simply overwrite the oldest files. That should preserve sufficient memory space for system operations.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Messages
396
Reaction score
390
Age
42
Location
Denmark
I had an issue today that caused my controller to fail during flight, and boot loop the FlightMode 2.0 app because my controller ran out of space from all the images and recordings it stores. I had to shut off the controller and reboot it while the drone performed a RTH due to loss of RC Link. Is a cleaning of the files required for me to perform after each flights or do you guys just push it off to the SD Card after a flight to make sure space is available for Android and FlightMode to run?

View attachment 11814
I read somewhere that when you format the SD card the controller should delete the corresponding files on the ST16. But never seen mine doing this. I usually just delete them manually from the image view inside the flightapp after formatting the SD before the next flight. It is also much easier to preview newer files if all the previous recordings are removed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Steve Carr
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
638
Reaction score
321
Age
39
Location
NorCal
Likewise, I use the same method of removing all media after every flight. The ST16s doesn’t allow you to set an automatic parameter to clear media cache, fearing that this slows down the startup.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Messages
263
Reaction score
169
Age
34
Location
Central Florida
Likewise, I use the same method of removing all media after every flight. The ST16s doesn’t allow you to set an automatic parameter to clear media cache, fearing that this slows down the startup.
Well, with me and the situation I had happen. It didn't slow down startup, it crashed FlightMode 2.0 and then the whole android system processes began to fail systematically till I powered down while in flight because it ran out of space lol. You'd think they would have a feature for this to prevent that from happening but there's a lot of things I'm discovering with Yuneec that shoulda/coulda but never happened.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
638
Reaction score
321
Age
39
Location
NorCal
Well, with me and the situation I had happen. It didn't slow down startup, it crashed FlightMode 2.0 and then the whole android system processes began to fail systematically till I powered down while in flight because it ran out of space lol. You'd think they would have a feature for this to prevent that from happening but there's a lot of things I'm discovering with Yuneec that shoulda/coulda but never happened.
I experienced that yesterday, ST16s rebooted. I was trying out the “Journey” (useless feature) when I hit start the controller rebooted for 4sec, it took me to the main screen, then to the fight monitor. On the flight log, it didn’t indicate RC Loss
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Age
38
Location
Greenville, SC, USA
While this post might be dead, I would like to ask a similar question... all of my JPEG and DNG files are being loaded to the camera SD while some useless PNG files are loaded to the controller. I do not even need the PNG's.

Is there any way to remove this setting? I know the location of the files in the directory, but this is just an extra step and if 4K video is considered, then we are in serious trouble.

Too bad root isn't possible...
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
6,052
Reaction score
2,705
Location
Bessemer, MI
There is no need to remove any files on the ST16. They are archive files. When they reach the max limit set by the software, the older files will be overwritten by the newer ones. All of the picture and video files stored on the ST16 are quite small. The high resolution is only recorded to the sd card in the camera.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
15,388
Messages
178,314
Members
18,052
Latest member
EMA Pilot