Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Managing the batteries w/o extra equiptment

Reaction score
Ok,

I am very new to the drone world as this is my first drone. I have identified the first issue that I want help on. Managing the batteries to keep them in tip top shape.

I would love to hear from many on how they do it?

I ran my 2 batteries down to roughly half (using the controller as the gauge) but know there must be a better way!

Good question... short answer below, but searching the forum for "Lipo battery care" will yield a large repository of info on the subject in this forum, including this sticky thread here

LiPo battery care

To the point, you will need to upgrade your charger that is supplied with the H. However this fact contradicts the title of your post. You will need some sort of extra equipment... You could choose a self contained charger that is dedicated to the H batteries:

https://www.amazon.com/Morpilot-Typhoon-Intelligent-Hexacopter-Controller/dp/B071W1DBZP/

That will give you the minimum of being able to charge 2 batteries and have a storage charge/discharge function.

If you you are serious about battery care, you will want to get a charger with the capabilities of balance charging, storage discharging... and being able to read not only individual cell voltages, but also measuring individual cell internal resistance. To do that you need to go to 3rd party chargers designed for several battery types, which will require adapter cables for your H batteries:

https://www.amazon.com/HTRC-Charger-Battery-Discharger-AC150W/dp/B0787V6XQW/

Yuneec Typhoon H Battery Plug Cable for Chargers

Until you get one of the above suggestions... if you fly the H down to a voltage of 14.5V, the at-rest voltage will usually bounce back fairly close to the 15.2V you want to store at.

Last edited: