Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Phantom 4 for $1150, better deal than H?

I'm new to this. So far, just fly around and take videos for fun. I go hiking a lot so wanted to try and take some mountain aerial shots. I've had like 3 minutes total flying time so I'm still discovering this hobby.

I have the P4, Inspire Pro and H currently, and prefer the P4 for the type of use you're describing. You'll want something that packs up easily, and I use the Polar Pro Drone Trekker to haul the P4 if I need to get around easily, otherwise it's in a Pelican 1510 now.

With that said, the H can be made to fit in a backpack but the landing gear may be vulnerable. The H also has the journey selfie mode if that appeals to you. Another upside to the H is that you can carry the Wizard and leave the bulky ST16 at home if you want. Careful flying in national forests and national parks though, currently you must launch/retrieve from outside the bounds.

If it were me and I wanted something to carry hiking, I'd take the P4 at this time.

Be very careful buying "too good to be true" deals on Ebay. Lots of folks got burned. You might get you money back eventually but have it tied up for a while. This seller has a history of small dollar items, no big price sales. I would be suspicious.

The H can do many shots that the P4 can only dream about. With the landing gear out of the way, it can shoot things the P4 cannot.

The camera in the P4 seems just a tad better than the camera in the H. DJI service leaves much to be desired from what I've heard.

You also need to have a phone or tablet with the P4, while the display is built in with the ST16 controller.