Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Reflash the H+ to H520?

Joined
Sep 28, 2020
Messages
706
Reaction score
226
Age
53
Location
Kozloduy, Bulgaria
I still don't know what exactly I bought in the last week but I hope there will be one working H+ and one crashed. The crashed will be repaired, of course, but will be interesting to make it an H520. Did someone try something like this? Is there a GUI as for H available?
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
1,140
Reaction score
402
Age
45
you need to swap the mainboard to change the h plus to h520 first gen. you can not just reflash it from h plus to h520 and it will work. terrestrial imaging have done conversions of the h plus to h520.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
1,140
Reaction score
402
Age
45
board shape is the same size but the some of the connections locations are different and there is a difference electronic parts in circuit layout. h520 mainboard is slightly older than the h plus mainboard.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2020
Messages
706
Reaction score
226
Age
53
Location
Kozloduy, Bulgaria
A step back with the questions.
What is the major differrrnce between these two platforms?

Exactly I bought it just to sniff the camera to drone and vice versa protocol.

H520 cameras work with H+ or not?
 

johnnyb57

Lost in Space
Approved Vendor
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
1,086
Reaction score
476
Age
64
Location
Fall River Ma.
I use the 23 camera, I never got to deep into it as I was looking to trade the 23 for the 90 because I couldn't get the 23 to function like the 90 ? What I really like is the map on the st16, and being able to put your finger on a location, and it'll fly there on its own ?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Vaklin

slw74

Part 107 certificate
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 5, 2018
Messages
100
Reaction score
84
Age
70
Location
Matthews, North Carolina
I did a conversion of one of my H plus to an H520. The hardware of the H plus is compatible with the H520 with the exception of the mainboard. There are hardware specific board identities (numerical data in hardware) that prevents the H520 firmware from being loaded on the H plus or vice versa. There are some subtle differences in connecting the hardware, but the change-out is pretty straightforward (see photos). Note that the H520 mainboard has the identity printed on it. With the option to make this change and use the C23 camera interchangeably with the E90, you should be able to make the "upgrade" for a very reasonable cost. Note the you will need to load your ST-16S controller with the Datapilot for the H520. Let me know if you have any questions.
All the best,
Stephen
 

Attachments

  • Note H Plus connectors.JPG
    Note H Plus connectors.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 10
  • Different 520 WIFI connector.JPG
    Different 520 WIFI connector.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 10
  • Completed 520 conversion.JPG
    Completed 520 conversion.JPG
    2.9 MB · Views: 10
Joined
Sep 28, 2020
Messages
706
Reaction score
226
Age
53
Location
Kozloduy, Bulgaria
I'll look for a crashed 520 on the eBays. I have some questions. I still can't imagine what is better on one of them and what is on another. Can someone prepare a list with pros and cons for every one of them? About the C23 and E90 too. Can Plus work with E90 or not? The same about the 520 and C23? And which one is better and why?

Regards!
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2020
Messages
706
Reaction score
226
Age
53
Location
Kozloduy, Bulgaria
One more question. The black box over the mainboard should be the flight controller or I'm wrong? Is this the same for both? Except, the firmware inside, of course.
 

h-elsner

Premium Pilot
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
1,438
Reaction score
1,064
Location
Bavaria / Germany
The FC is on the mainboard. The black box is the IMU and baro.
I'm not sure if the IMU of H520 is the same as H Plus but I think so.
IMU_back.JPG IMU_front.JPG

br HE
 
  • Like
Reactions: Vaklin
Joined
Sep 28, 2020
Messages
706
Reaction score
226
Age
53
Location
Kozloduy, Bulgaria
Just got the parcel. Good deal from my point of view. Two ST16S, one copter in perfect visual condition, one smashed, I'll try to get some spares from it, three batteries, two of them with very low voltage on some cells, I'll try to revert it to life, carry bag, a second small bag for the ST's and so on.

Are there some hidden menus on the ST16S? Channel settings, model selection etc.?
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2020
Messages
706
Reaction score
226
Age
53
Location
Kozloduy, Bulgaria
Should be investigated a variant with dual boot for + and 520 in one controller. BTW only launcher APK is different or more is replaced? If only the launcher, a preset launcher application will do the job.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
20,118
Messages
232,646
Members
24,613
Latest member
Jennyxinh