Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

The Wizard

Joined
Apr 27, 2016
Messages
719
Reaction score
272
Age
57
Has anyone tried it yet?

I'd like to attach it to another copter and try Follow Me to see how it works in the air. Sounds like fun anyway.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Eduardo Arevalo
Joined
Apr 27, 2016
Messages
719
Reaction score
272
Age
57
Ok, surely someone has used it. It is a main reason I bought the pre-order version, but didn't get a chance to play with it. I'm hoping to have my H back by end of this week.

RC Tanks, I've seen some of your videos of the tanks, being a WW2 buff they really are cool. Love those Tigers.

OT, but this is a great video.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Sharpe
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
1,646
Reaction score
680
Age
64
Location
Melvin Michigan, In the thumb
I have played with the wizard. Pretty kewl, you can leave the ST-16 at home and fly just with the wizard.
Flip it to SMART mode and the H will just follow along. You will not have access to the camera controls without the ST-16 in team mode.
Just wish they had at least programmed a low battery warning into it. But I sure had fun playing with it.
It appears to have the sensitivity set about the middle of Turtle and Rabbit modes.
Plan ahead if flying with JUST the wizard.
 
Joined
May 13, 2016
Messages
187
Reaction score
33
Age
46
I have played with the wizard. Pretty kewl, you can leave the ST-16 at home and fly just with the wizard.
Flip it to SMART mode and the H will just follow along. You will not have access to the camera controls without the ST-16 in team mode.
Just wish they had at least programmed a low battery warning into it. But I sure had fun playing with it.
It appears to have the sensitivity set about the middle of Turtle and Rabbit modes.
Plan ahead if flying with JUST the wizard.
How do you land with the Wizard?
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
495
Reaction score
201
Someone was going to report back if it adjusted for altitude changed while following.
All indications so far it will not.
 
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
61
Reaction score
38
Age
38
Someone was going to report back if it adjusted for altitude changed while following.
All indications so far it will not.
All indications point to yes it will. I havent used the wizard yet but Drone Gear posted a video saying that it will due to the pressure sensors it comes with. Video is on Yuneec's YT channel. I could be wrong but i do not think the phantoms can do this.
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2016
Messages
57
Reaction score
21
Age
38
Ok, surely someone has used it. It is a main reason I bought the pre-order version, but didn't get a chance to play with it. I'm hoping to have my H back by end of this week.

RC Tanks, I've seen some of your videos of the tanks, being a WW2 buff they really are cool. Love those Tigers.

OT, but this is a great video.
Thanks mate! Muchly appreciated :)

Yeah got to love the German tanks. What am I saying, any WW2 tank i love, haha
 
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
1,646
Reaction score
680
Age
64
Location
Melvin Michigan, In the thumb
Two options,
1) Hold the down button till it lands and goes to idle.
2) Use the RTH function and let it land by it's self.

Press the RED button ONLY after the motors are at idle.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 28, 2016
Messages
119
Reaction score
54
Age
46
I would like a mode where the wizard is used as just a GPS locator (follow me, watch me) but control is still possible with the ST16.

I, like others, want to film other rc vehicles by putting the wizard on them and setting them off. But what happens if you need to adjust the position of the H? You have just sent the only method of controlling your craft off with the other rc vehicle.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jmkreege
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
Again RED BUTTON IS BAD WHILE STILL IN AIR.....just sayin
I think he was meaning after landing and motors idle, then Red Button, from what I take, but for the sake of newbs, yes, definitely want to make that very clear !;)
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2016
Messages
159
Reaction score
46
sorry to confuse anybody....lol.......I am going to play with the wizard today while trying to ride a skateboard. I am just going to use the wizard no st 16...
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
I would like a mode where the wizard is used as just a GPS locator (follow me, watch me) but control is still possible with the ST16.

I, like others, want to film other rc vehicles by putting the wizard on them and setting them off. But what happens if you need to adjust the position of the H? You have just sent the only method of controlling your craft off with the other rc vehicle.
No ! You would still have the ST16 to control the H if the Wizard was on another RC as a tracker, Am I missing something ? Are they not bound together? Good question !:confused:
 
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
1,646
Reaction score
680
Age
64
Location
Melvin Michigan, In the thumb
You CAN fly with JUST the wizard.
You will NOT have any control over the camera.
You need the ST-16 in TEAM MODE if you want to control the camera.
You can use the ST-16 to start the video recording, set the gimbal the way you want, and just leave it behind.
CAUTION: Flying with just the wizard, you will have NO low battery warning other than the lights on the H.
Make sure to watch your flight time carefully.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
You CAN fly with JUST the wizard.
You will NOT have any control over the camera.
You need the ST-16 in TEAM MODE if you want to control the camera.
You can use the ST-16 to start the video recording, set the gimbal the way you want, and just leave it behind.
CAUTION: Flying with just the wizard, you will have NO low battery warning other than the lights on the H.
Make sure to watch your flight time carefully.
Bob, does the Wizard not vibrate when low battery? Thought I read that somewhere? Thanks!
 
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
1,646
Reaction score
680
Age
64
Location
Melvin Michigan, In the thumb
I am not sure if it does or not.
I set the timer on my watch for 10 minutes. Did not want to push my luck.
Have to try on a run down battery, leave it ground idle and see what it does. Won't be able to try till this weekend.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DroneClone

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
16,632
Messages
193,843
Members
19,292
Latest member
BeeFound