Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Anyone sorted an external monitor from ST16 HDMI?

Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
39
Reaction score
12
Age
36
Hi folks,

I've searched numerous threads on this forum and others but not really found a confident solution from anyone. It seems that a number of people have had problems linking their ST16 to an external monitor. I'd like to do this so that a camera man or client can get a really good view. Ideally I'd like to use a larger screen than the 7 inch one on the ST16: 12" or bigger would be great, though I don't really know what is available and what would fit on a tripod!

So, some questions:

Has anyone got a reliable setup that they can describe please?
Can anyone recommend a monitor?
What are you powering your monitor from?
Has Yuneec sorted/ identified the problem?

Thanks guys!
Andy

PS, I've taken the plunge, bought an H and am very happy with it so thank you all for your help so far.
 
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
294
Reaction score
99
I have worked with external monitor...but don't work everytime from first second...sometimes I must go in HDMI settings ...and when I plugged then again it get working alone...but if it's on...no break and stable double pic from st16
 

PatR

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 1, 2016
Messages
10,170
Reaction score
5,522
Location
N. California
I haven't used a separate monitor while flying yet, that's something definitely on the agenda though. I do connect the -16 to a 40" TV/monitor in the house from time to time and it works just fine.
 
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
232
Reaction score
38
Age
84
Location
Near Seattle, WA
I haven't tried a monitor, but I did connect the ST16 to my 40" HDTV via HDMI cable and looked at my video & stills on that screen. WOW, does that make a difference! However, that wouldn't do well outdoors trying to set it up, especially if I were up in the mountains somewhere! ;-)
 
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
567
Reaction score
194
Age
71
Location
Cardiff-Wales UK
Hi folks,

I've searched numerous threads on this forum and others but not really found a confident solution from anyone. It seems that a number of people have had problems linking their ST16 to an external monitor. I'd like to do this so that a camera man or client can get a really good view. Ideally I'd like to use a larger screen than the 7 inch one on the ST16: 12" or bigger would be great, though I don't really know what is available and what would fit on a tripod!

So, some questions:

Has anyone got a reliable setup that they can describe please?
Can anyone recommend a monitor?
What are you powering your monitor from?
Has Yuneec sorted/ identified the problem?

Thanks guys!
Andy

PS, I've taken the plunge, bought an H and am very happy with it so thank you all for your help so far.
Well done you will enjoy the H. The best monitor that works out of the box is one I have just bought - F&V F3 Metalica. There is a cheaper model of the F3 that should be the same but without the frills. I have others such as Liliput and Black Pearl that don't work.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
866
Reaction score
224
Age
69
Hi folks,

I've searched numerous threads on this forum and others but not really found a confident solution from anyone. It seems that a number of people have had problems linking their ST16 to an external monitor. I'd like to do this so that a camera man or client can get a really good view. Ideally I'd like to use a larger screen than the 7 inch one on the ST16: 12" or bigger would be great, though I don't really know what is available and what would fit on a tripod!

So, some questions:

Has anyone got a reliable setup that they can describe please?
Can anyone recommend a monitor?
What are you powering your monitor from?
Has Yuneec sorted/ identified the problem?

Thanks guys!
Andy

PS, I've taken the plunge, bought an H and am very happy with it so thank you all for your help so far.
I use an Ipad. works perfect! Just download the CGO3 app.
 
R

Rayray

Guest
I'll try hooking to my Asus T100T notebook computer, Windows 10. The display is detachable, about 10", and light.

Now I have to order a micro HDMI adapter. I swear I've got some around here, but can't find one. Do have a cable that will hook to the ST-16, other end is a mini? Must be 3 sizes.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
39
Reaction score
12
Age
36
I'll try hooking to my Asus T100T notebook computer, Windows 10. The display is detachable, about 10", and light.

Now I have to order a micro HDMI adapter. I swear I've got some around here, but can't find one. Do have a cable that will hook to the ST-16, other end is a mini? Must be 3 sizes.

Thanks guys, so far Rayray your potential option looks great as it's portable and bigger than the ST16 screen. Please let me know how you get on with that. Could be ideal
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2016
Messages
38
Reaction score
44
Age
37
When looked at my footage yesterday for the first time on my 65 inches HD TV, it was so nice. I saw things i didn't even noticed when i was filming ! Some people waving hello the the H for example !

I contacted customer service however, my HDMI output on the ST16 is having problems. It's kind of loose inside. Or too deep. I had to keep pressure on the HDMI connection so i wouldn't loose signal. And i had to be carefull not to move even a little or i was loosing the signal. I tried 5 HDMI cables i had and all of them were doing the same thing. So people could think the HDMI out not working is a software problems but the HDMI output is the real problem.

Cheers !
 

PatR

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 1, 2016
Messages
10,170
Reaction score
5,522
Location
N. California
Well done you will enjoy the H. The best monitor that works out of the box is one I have just bought - F&V F3 Metalica. There is a cheaper model of the F3 that should be the same but without the frills. I have others such as Liliput and Black Pearl that don't work.
I don't want to sound cheap but $300.00 for a 7" monitor seems a bit steep.
 
R

Rayray

Guest
Thanks guys, so far Rayray your potential option looks great as it's portable and bigger than the ST16 screen. Please let me know how you get on with that. Could be ideal
Will not work. The laptop HDMI will only output, no way to use the screen from another device. Have to use a tablet with HDMI input capability.
 
Joined
May 13, 2016
Messages
84
Reaction score
26
Age
59
Location
Sakhalin island, Russia
I did couple it up direct with the HDMI cable and that worked fine
can not I connect my tablet via HDMI. My tablet has a micro HDMI, but fails to connect.. Probably need some sort of a program for a tablet? You can explain in more detail how you hooked?
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
17,127
Messages
200,197
Members
19,811
Latest member
greg745