Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Breeze and St16?

Joined
May 28, 2016
Messages
119
Reaction score
54
Age
46
While i really like the design and size of the breeze I hate that you have to use your phone to fly it. Has anyone tried paring the breeze with an ST16? If it works with the ST16 I'll go out and buy a breeze asap1
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Age
33
I wasn't able to get mine to pair with a friends ST16, but I didn't have much time to play with it. We where both in a hurry and I was just curious if it would pair or not. I will try to get more time with his ST16 BUT I feel this quad is designed for users to fly with their phones only. That's the market this quad is geared for anyways, people who are always taking selfies with their phones.. I am still really enjoying this quad and find it VERY fun to fly, even if the range is limited due to the phone.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
Age
49
Flying the Breeze with that huge remote kind of defeats the purpose of the breeze in my opinion.
The ST16 appears to be bigger and heavier than the breeze....Maybe they need to come up with a smaller version of the ST10.

Cheers.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Age
33
I agree, if I had to carry a large remote with me I would probably just carry my Phantom or Typhoon and not worry about the small breeze. I like the breeze for its small portability and for close photos and videos.. I don't plan to use it for more than photos and video.. I don't plan on it being a flyer and flying it thousands of feet away..

Thats just me though
 

Cbo

Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
4
Age
45
I spoke with Yuneec support today and was told that using a remote is not possible now but may be in the future.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Snagglesworth
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
139
Reaction score
36
Location
Wauconda Illinois
I like the Breeze for indoor uses. It seems Yuneec designed it especially for that purpose, my Typhoon H for outdoor use and the Breeze for indoors, sounds like a perfect match. Does anyone know how the cameras match up?
 

Cbo

Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
4
Age
45
Got my Breeze yesterday for indoor use and although I like the unit, it takes some getting used to. Controlling on a touchscreen is tough and the unit drifts quite a bit. I also found that it will climb as you move over objects like it's trying to maintain an elevation. For example, if you are flying 4' off of the floor and you move over a coffee table, the Breeze seems to climb. Still working with it trying to get comfortable. As for camera, it's pretty good, nothing like the CGO3, more like a high end cell phone picture and the stabilized 1080 video is nice.

Update: Drifting was caused by having GPS turned on indoors. Once I deactivated the GPS, and turned down the sensitivity, all was good. Be sure you have enough light for the flow control and the most important thing, TURN OFF NOTIFICATIONS for your device. If a text message comes in you will lose control :-/
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
139
Reaction score
36
Location
Wauconda Illinois
Got my Breeze yesterday for indoor use and although I like the unit, it takes some getting used to. Controlling on a touchscreen is tough and the unit drifts quite a bit. I also found that it will climb as you move over objects like it's trying to maintain an elevation. For example, if you are flying 4' off of the floor and you move over a coffee table, the Breeze seems to climb. Still working with it trying to get comfortable. As for camera, it's pretty good, nothing like the CGO3, more like a high end cell phone picture and the stabilized 1080 video is nice.

Update: Drifting was caused by having GPS turned on indoors. Once I deactivated the GPS, and turned down the sensitivity, all was good. Be sure you have enough light for the flow control and the most important thing, TURN OFF NOTIFICATIONS for your device. If a text message comes in you will lose control :-/
Great post, this is what I've been waiting to hear. I'm a bit disappointed in the camera quality. How's the gimbal? I think it's a one or two axis gimbal is that right?
 

Cbo

Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
4
Age
45
There is no gimbal, just tilt. The stabilization is performed on the fly and is software based. The camera takes the 4K video and stabilizes it down to 1080. So far daytime, outdoor video seems good, low light indoor or evening footage is grainy, I will post a new thread with examples soon...
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
280
Reaction score
49
Age
54
While i really like the design and size of the breeze I hate that you have to use your phone to fly it. Has anyone tried paring the breeze with an ST16? If it works with the ST16 I'll go out and buy a breeze asap1
can't you connect a PS3 gamepad to the phone thru USB host
As several of us did with the Parrot bebop 2
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2016
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Age
37
IMAG0016.jpg IMAG0022.jpg IMAG0016.jpg IMAG0022.jpg
While i really like the design and size of the breeze I hate that you have to use your phone to fly it. Has anyone tried paring the breeze with an ST16? If it works with the ST16 I'll go out and buy a breeze asap1
I have the Typhoon and its control station you can exit the Flight Navigator program and actually surf the internet and you guessed it Fly the breeze, Ive downloaded the App onto the controllers hard drive
 
  • Like
Reactions: abinder
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
316
Reaction score
66
Age
61
Got my Breeze yesterday for indoor use and although I like the unit, it takes some getting used to. Controlling on a touchscreen is tough and the unit drifts quite a bit. I also found that it will climb as you move over objects like it's trying to maintain an elevation. For example, if you are flying 4' off of the floor and you move over a coffee table, the Breeze seems to climb. Still working with it trying to get comfortable. As for camera, it's pretty good, nothing like the CGO3, more like a high end cell phone picture and the stabilized 1080 video is nice.

Update: Drifting was caused by having GPS turned on indoors. Once I deactivated the GPS, and turned down the sensitivity, all was good. Be sure you have enough light for the flow control and the most important thing, TURN OFF NOTIFICATIONS for your device. If a text message comes in you will lose control :-/
Would it just be best to put the device controlling it into 'airplane' mode and then turn on the wifi ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
41
Can you use the joysticks on the remote?

Gesendet von meinem SM-G935F mit Tapatalk
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 3, 2017
Messages
23
Reaction score
6
Age
33
can't you connect a PS3 gamepad to the phone thru USB host
As several of us did with the Parrot bebop 2
I just tried this. First with the galaxy s7, but that one doesn't support the ps3 controller anymore apparently. Then I tried it with an S5, and you can control the phone with the PS3 controller. Sadly when you open Breeze cam, the PS3 controller doesn't work anymore. Would have been great otherwise
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2017
Messages
1
Reaction score
1
Age
41
Flying the Breeze with that huge remote kind of defeats the purpose of the breeze in my opinion.
The ST16 appears to be bigger and heavier than the breeze....Maybe they need to come up with a smaller version of the ST10.

Cheers.
Maybe you should go fly a DJI Marshmellow, you dont have a clue how awesome that ground station feels like, with a support harness no weight issues just pure control.
 
  • Like
Reactions: clean1
Joined
Apr 7, 2018
Messages
46
Reaction score
3
Age
35
So guess never saw a answer to questions does st16 work with breeze any way ?
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
3,602
Reaction score
1,676
Location
The Vehicle City
So guess never saw a answer to questions does st16 work with breeze any way ?
If it works at all, it would be the same as using the phone. I think the WiFi is capable of 5.8 GHz. The sticks are paired to channels in the radio of the ST-16. So rather pointless to use the ST-16 with the Breeze.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Slawson
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
31
Reaction score
4
Age
29
The ST16 will control the Breeze using the stock OS in "pad" mode, and will only operate using the touch screen..

Outside of that, no, it will not function.

I highly recommend using the included controller, it feels appropriate for the drone.
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
3,602
Reaction score
1,676
Location
The Vehicle City
Thanks for confirming my suspicions Slawson.

I knew the sticks were out as they are tied to radio channels. I wasn’t sure about using the touch screen as Yuneec doesn’t publish complete specs of the ST-16.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
16,832
Messages
196,538
Members
19,529
Latest member
[email protected]