Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Capabilities of the Q500 G

Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Messages
55
Reaction score
25
Location
Dallas Texas
Has it ever been formally announced what capabilities you will have with the G?

Through the transmitter, can you start/stop video? Change camera settings? Switch from video to photo?

Will we be able to swap between the GoPro and CGO3 gimbals on the same Q500?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
2
Age
48
Has it ever been formally announced what capabilities you will have with the G?

Through the transmitter, can you start/stop video? Change camera settings? Switch from video to photo?

Will we be able to swap between the GoPro and CGO3 gimbals on the same Q500?
I got this as a response from my email to them.


Hello,
If I bought the Typhoon G and hooked up my GoPro Hero4, will I be able to stop/start video when the quadcopter is in the air? Will I be able to change settings on the GoPro with the Remote Control? Thanks
Mike



Hello Mike,
The short answer is yes, you will be able to control the camera with the ST10+ transmitter. You will go through a process of binding your camera to the drone. I recommend you visit our website www.yuneec.com, click on the products tab then on the Typhoon G tab. This will offer an abundance of information the the G. Please continue to contact us if you have any further questions.
Have a Yuneec day!
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2015
Messages
241
Reaction score
172
Location
Ontario, CA
Hello Mike,

Thank you for choosing Yuneec! You must start and stop Gopro manually and cannot make any changes to Gopro settings via ST10+ transmitter. Only function that may be done via ST10+ is the tilt function. Sorry for the confusion. If you have any additional questions please feel free to email me.

Best Regards,

Tim Terrones
Online Social Services
|Yuneec USA, Inc.
5555 Ontario Mills Parkway
Ontario, CA 91764
[email protected]
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
2
Age
48
Hello Mike,

Thank you for choosing Yuneec! You must start and stop Gopro manually and cannot make any changes to Gopro settings via ST10+ transmitter. Only function that may be done via ST10+ is the tilt function. Sorry for the confusion. If you have any additional questions please feel free to email me.

Best Regards,

Tim Terrones
Online Social Services
|Yuneec USA, Inc.
5555 Ontario Mills Parkway
Ontario, CA 91764
[email protected]
Would I be able to view what the GoPro is filming from the st10?
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Messages
55
Reaction score
25
Location
Dallas Texas
Hello Mike,

Thank you for choosing Yuneec! You must start and stop Gopro manually and cannot make any changes to Gopro settings via ST10+ transmitter. Only function that may be done via ST10+ is the tilt function. Sorry for the confusion. If you have any additional questions please feel free to email me.

Best Regards,

Tim Terrones
Online Social Services
|Yuneec USA, Inc.
5555 Ontario Mills Parkway
Ontario, CA 91764
[email protected]
This makes the Typhoon G a more limited platform, for sure. Not being able to change settings is an inconvenience - not really sure how much of one though. You wouldn't be able to shoot still images unless you did it with the GoPro app, and that would interfere with how I fly.

You could set it up to shoot timelapse photos but you won't be able to see the FPV on your TX. (The guy who does Videos By Andy has a Typhoon G and confirmed that one for me a day or two ago.)
 

LuvMyTJ

Admin
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 10, 2015
Messages
595
Reaction score
354
Location
Live! From New York!
This makes the Typhoon G a more limited platform, for sure. Not being able to change settings is an inconvenience - not really sure how much of one though. You wouldn't be able to shoot still images unless you did it with the GoPro app, and that would interfere with how I fly.

You could set it up to shoot timelapse photos but you won't be able to see the FPV on your TX. (The guy who does Videos By Andy has a Typhoon G and confirmed that one for me a day or two ago.)
I use the GoPro on my Phantom 2. You can set the GoPro to film & take pics at the same time, no apps needed. The settings are within the camera itself. I can see FPV, film video & take pics all at the same time. The same would be true of the Yuneec.

My question is will there be an option to use a GoPro on the Q500 4K with an accessory gimbal?
 
  • Like
Reactions: dirkclod
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
2
Age
48
I use the GoPro on my Phantom 2. You can set the GoPro to film & take pics at the same time, no apps needed. The settings are within the camera itself.
Thanks for the suggestion. I always forget what the capabilities of my GoPro are
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
47
Why are the photo and video buttons disabled on the controller? I just ordered one and am considering cancelling as I just figured out this limitation. Is this a limitation of Yuneec or GoPro? Can we expect this to be fixed in a future firmware update?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
2
Age
48
Why are the photo and video buttons disabled on the controller? I just ordered one and am considering cancelling as I just figured out this limitation. Is this a limitation of Yuneec or GoPro? Can we expect this to be fixed in a future firmware update?
I believe that GoPro did not release the programming to Yuneec
 
  • Like
Reactions: Yuneec_Usa

LuvMyTJ

Admin
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 10, 2015
Messages
595
Reaction score
354
Location
Live! From New York!
Gopro has the camera use locked up unless Yuneec wants to pony up the money for the rights to use it. 3DR is the only one I know that will eventually come out with Gopro control via the RC controller.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2015
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
47
It seems that GoPro would benefit from having this interface open for all accessory makers to help boost sales. Last I checked, there is no shortage of GoPros in the stores. I've decided to keep my order after all since I can just set to the Photo+Video mode. Not ideal, but more of an editing hassle than anything.
 

LuvMyTJ

Admin
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 10, 2015
Messages
595
Reaction score
354
Location
Live! From New York!
It seems that GoPro would benefit from having this interface open for all accessory makers to help boost sales. Last I checked, there is no shortage of GoPros in the stores. I've decided to keep my order after all since I can just set to the Photo+Video mode. Not ideal, but more of an editing hassle than anything.
There is no exclusivity with that approach. Besides, charging a licensing fee helps Gopro profit more. Last time I checked Gopro is still the leader in action cams so they get to call the shots.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dirkclod

LuvMyTJ

Admin
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 10, 2015
Messages
595
Reaction score
354
Location
Live! From New York!
Joined
Nov 23, 2015
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Age
64
Can a XiaoMi Yi camera be used with the G, if so, what limitations?

Possibly too soon to know the answer, but......

Will gimbal mount accept Yi without modification ( fit or weight )?
Will image be transmitted to ST 10?
I don't care about vid / pic controls, as simply video from beginning to end.

Thanks in advance for reply.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2015
Messages
36
Reaction score
2
Age
36
do you know if yuneec is working on implementing the two buttons that doesnt work for the go pro (take pictures and video recording).
Hello Mike,

Thank you for choosing Yuneec! You must start and stop Gopro manually and cannot make any changes to Gopro settings via ST10+ transmitter. Only function that may be done via ST10+ is the tilt function. Sorry for the confusion. If you have any additional questions please feel free to email me.

Best Regards,

Tim Terrones
Online Social Services
|Yuneec USA, Inc.
5555 Ontario Mills Parkway
Ontario, CA 91764
[email protected]
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
16,676
Messages
194,386
Members
19,342
Latest member
Gurien428