Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Getting Established As A Pro

Reaction score
Hi All:
I own a Q500 4K & plan to take the part 107 soon (within a few weeks not months).
My dilemma is should I make my next move getting a backup Q500 4K & some batteries (I just have the one for now) or should I wait a little longer and get the Typhoon H?
One side of my brain screams to have a backup & more batteries, while the other side screams to upgrade and have more flight capabilities to offer in the Spring and beyond.
After this next purchase, I will have to let my fledgling business finance any additional purchases. I love my Q500 but it does have limits.

I would try and match my tools to the type of work I intend to do. The Typhoon H is a solid platform now, and as a beginner photography drone, fills that job quite nicely, the DNG's can make wonderful shots. I have no experience with the Q except I have seen them fly and they look very solid though I know they cannot handle as much wind as an H, so that is one downside. As for spares? I would always like to have batteries and other consumables but as far as an extra aircraft I think it depends on the kind of workload you have.

I found that for the past two and a half years doing real estate photography, first with my H and then later with the Plus, my philosophy has always been to put the money away for a new drone should I ever lose my main aircraft and the reason I did this is because of the life cycle of a given platform. Newer and better models are constantly being produced, company's have peaks and valleys and we never know what is around the corner. If you purchase a back-up (especially one at or near the end of it's life cycle) and you never need to use it, then you may miss the opportunity to get a newer and better platform and stay ahead of the technological curve that is always advancing rapidly.