Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Ham operation and Drone interference???

Reaction score
Just read a post by ‘bud’. He stated his Breeze crashed for no apparent reason but mentioned his neighbor is a Ham operator and linked the two instances together.

“My breeze has periodically become uncontrollable & crashed for apparently NO REASON. I am a skilled pilot of 5 years, with 6 other drones. Recently i discovered that my neighbor is a Ham Radio operator & some friends (a computer engineer & an electrical engineer) who were visiting, advised me that the radio waves from the neighbors ham radio broadcasting, were likely hijacking my drone!!! Hopefully this info may help others to understand the bizarre behaviour of THEIR Breezes that crash for seemingly no reason & perhaps find ways to combat it. Fly safe, have fun!!!”

I tried to post the below but that link is ‘closed’?? So I’ll post my reply here. (Below)

As a Ham operator and an electrical engineer it would be interesting to get more detail on this. What ‘class’ of license does your neighbor have; Technician?, General?, Amateur Extra? Does he have a large antenna sitting in his backyard? (If you just recently discovered your neighbor is a Ham, I’d have to guess there is no large antenna outside his house - else you would have noticed this long ago). Do you notice TV interference? (You should not). Any cell phone issues when you are making calls? Were you flying close to one of his antennas? Have you noticed issues with your other drones? Ham operators are very aware of frequency interference and place filters, chokes, and other devices in-line to prevent spurious emissions. We measure S/N ratios (signal to noise) carefully.

Do you think your GPS signal was ‘jammed’? Did you lose your video link? Do you use a 2.4/5.8 network in your home? If so, any issues?