Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

DataPilot (or equivalent official software from Yuneec)

Joined
Jul 15, 2016
Messages
33
Reaction score
2
Age
56
Location
Denmark
Hi

Does the DataPilot work for the Typhoon H Prof. (Not H520)....
If not WHY NOT??
If yes...how do I connect the Typhoon?

Does Yuneec have plans to release the DataPilot for us meager Thyphoon H Proff. owners (why not) ...when or doYuneec hav equivalent software to do the same job, for US ??


Best regards

Yuneec official answer would be appreciated.
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
7,298
Reaction score
3,665
Location
Bessemer, MI
This is a help and information forum. Everything posted here is from members and not from Yuneec. The forum is privately operated and is not in any way affiliated with Yuneec.
 

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
7,298
Reaction score
3,665
Location
Bessemer, MI
The intended use of the H is a photography and videography platform. The programmed functions are all designed around that concept. Adding DataPilot is not possible without replacing the Flight Controller. There is an app that can be added to the ST16 for planning a flight. www.uavtoolbox.com
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2016
Messages
33
Reaction score
2
Age
56
Location
Denmark
Hi Steve
What we intend using our drone for is a matter of personal flavour and I I find it limiting of the potential of our drone, that Yuneec don´t want to extrnd us the possibilities that DataPilot provides.
It´s NOT at technical issue...is a marketing issue....
I use the UAVtoolbox, but I find it strange that a 3. party software, is nessesary to do the job, that already have been deveeloped for Yuneec drones......
Again, I find it to be a marketing issue, since Yuneec want´s to separate the functionalities of the 2 different prizeranges....thus leaving us in the woods, with 3. party software.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2016
Messages
1,497
Reaction score
1,341
Age
49
Location
UK
Yes, it is a marketing issue. DataPilot allows professional users to carry out tasks that would typically be charged for, and that may require training and particular industry knowledge. They have chosen to 'force' users who want that sort of functionality to buy the more expensive H520, which they support with various additional services. Personally, I think that's fair enough - they have to cover the cost of developing software for those tasks and need to run a business that will make money.

DataPilot is designed to work with a completely different flight controller from the one in the H-Pro so it will not work with anything apart from the H520. The two drones are not compatible and it would be quite difficult to make them compatible.

I'm glad you enjoy UAV Toolbox!
 
  • Like
Reactions: PatR and Dr Delta

PatR

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 1, 2016
Messages
10,622
Reaction score
6,019
Location
N. California
I see it more as a budgeting issue for those with shallow pockets, not a marketing issue. Even if it could be made to work it would be but a short time before those trying it would start complaining their CGO-3 did not provide the same image quality as an E-90 and demand to know why Yuneec didn’t make a 20Mpxl camera the system standard. Then the issue of comparable flight times would pop up.
 

NorWiscPilot

Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Messages
1,425
Reaction score
793
Location
Northern Wisconsin, USA
“I want everything a Canon 1D or a Nikon D3 can do to be available in my Rebel x whatever that is less than ten percent of the price tag of the aforementioned.”

Oh wait... this is a drone forum. Sorry... copied to the wrong forum.

Doesn’t matter the equipment, device, or gear, does it? Same complaints.

 

PatR

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 1, 2016
Messages
10,622
Reaction score
6,019
Location
N. California
Pretty much. Those having less always want more but don’t want to, or can’t, pay for it and always blame a manufacturer for not giving their products away. It’s a quasi socialist outlook.

Those with the resources have whatever they want, because they earned it.
 

PatR

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 1, 2016
Messages
10,622
Reaction score
6,019
Location
N. California
There’s always going to be someone with that “silver spoon”;)

In any case, most buy what they can afford. Some jump in over their heads and float a loan to buy more than they can afford. Some buy as much as they can afford but not as much as they want and complain afterwards how they deserved more for the money spent. The brilliant ones will try to start a commercial endeavor while having only one aerial rig, and rail against the manufacturer when it breaks. They'll really go off about the time required to complete repairs and how that is costing them in lost business revenue. Says much about their understanding of how to run a business.

Saw pretty much the same thing with giant scale RC 3d planes and aerobatic competition. People wanted to participate in the big leagues but felt they were unfairly priced out of the game. Manufactures tried to accommodate them by making smaller and lower quality goods that sold for lower prices. Of course those didn’t provide the level of performance the good stuff did so those that bought the cheap stuff went on tirades about quality and performance.

You can’t make a product that will please everyone at a low price and remain in business. Best you can do is provide various levels of performance and quality and let you customers participate at the levels they can afford to. Of course they won't be able to compete with those using higher level rigs but in a way that's good for the manufacturer as it provides them a market for higher performing equipment. That’s applicable to most anything on the market. Cars, houses, furniture, tools, cameras, motorcycles, multirotors, RC transmitters, whatever. People that want to improve their businesses and compete at higher levels will eventually step up their game, or learn they are not up to the task. The Typhoon H is a little more than an entry level consumer drone but certainly not a high end cinema or mapping rig and people should not expect the H to have all the features and functions that can be obtained with a much higher priced unit. If they need that plan on spending a few thousand $$ more.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: NorWiscPilot
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Age
60
i am also very disappointed by Yuneec! (I have H920 and H480rs). Now, the best choice for me is the DJI Phantom 4 pro V2... with Pix4D Capture. This software is also avaible for H520!!!
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
856
Reaction score
205
Age
63
Location
netherlands
i am also very disappointed by Yuneec! (I have H920 and H480rs). Now, the best choice for me is the DJI Phantom 4 pro V2... with Pix4D Capture. This software is also avaible for H520!!!
yep.
there you go...
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
19
Reaction score
2
Age
54
Location
Massachusetts
Just an FYI, I just installed DataPilot on my ST16 controller today. Installed it as an apk file. Just Google DataPilot apk. It seems to start up fine, but I haven't flown with it yet. I think everyone should try to get the most from their tools and not be judged. Good luck
 
  • Like
Reactions: Stallen

NorWiscPilot

Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Messages
1,425
Reaction score
793
Location
Northern Wisconsin, USA
Just an FYI, I just installed DataPilot on my ST16 controller today. Installed it as an apk file. Just Google DataPilot apk. It seems to start up fine, but I haven't flown with it yet. I think everyone should try to get the most from their tools and not be judged. Good luck
hi JBibel,

Not sure what you mean by "... not be judged." But anyway, more to the point...

Are you saying you installed DataPilot on your ST16 for your H480? If so, does your Typhoon H480 bind to DataPilot? Can you start the motors? One doesn't have to try flying in order to determine if bind and control are at all functional.

I believe I have read elsewhere as to the ability to install DataPilot on an Android table (aka ST16 for the H480). What has not been possible has been to actually bind and control the H480 using the H520 DataPilot.

Will be very curious as to your updates with your endeavors.

Not doubting or judging, just curious if someone has actually been successful using DataPilot for the H480.

Please keep us informed!

Jeff
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
19
Reaction score
2
Age
54
Location
Massachusetts
Not be judged in reference to individuals trying to get more than they paid for. I installed it on my ST16 contolcont for my Typhoon H. Haven't tried flying with it yet as I've been getting hours on my Mavic. I'll take the H out over the extended weekend and see what happens. Thinking of getting a H520 but want to see how much I can squeeze out of the H
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
856
Reaction score
205
Age
63
Location
netherlands
Not be judged in reference to individuals trying to get more than they paid for. I installed it on my ST16 contolcont for my Typhoon H. Haven't tried flying with it yet as I've been getting hours on my Mavic. I'll take the H out over the extended weekend and see what happens. Thinking of getting a H520 but want to see how much I can squeeze out of the H
curious if it works at all.... and if so in what extent!

:)
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
17,719
Messages
207,967
Members
20,503
Latest member
FLY ENTERPRISE