Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Using SkyRC D100 / iMax B6 and battery pinout

Reaction score
Helo folks.

I am planning to use other chargers (in addition to the original) with my Typhoon H batteries, since having only one unit that takes 2,5 hours to charge can be a big problem in some jobs. Also, I would like to have the possibility to charge them for storage, which seems that the original charger is unable to do (this is quite stupid, IMHO).
I've been using LiPos with model planes since 2012, so I am quite aware of their pros and cons. My question is: how should I configure aforementioned chargers in order to more closely match the original charger charging profile? Should I just use their pre configured mode for 4S batteries?
Additionally, since I don't have the balance lead adapter (and it would cost LOADS of money to buy one here in Brazil), I will have to figure out some kind of makeshift adapter (I know, I know...). In order to do that, I searched a bit around for the battery pinout and I've saw that some folks took the pack apart and found a PCB inside it. They say that it might be a circuit to prevent single cell overdischarge. Does anyone here have some more information on that? How should this circuit affect battery charge with the aforementioned aftermarket chargers?
Thank you!

Charge rate should be 1C, so for the 5400mAh OEM battery charging amps should be 5.4A. Storage voltage should be 3.8V/cell so 15.2V for the pack.

There is a thread or two that cover converting the OEM charger for use with a third party charger. It involves opening the bottom and soldering wires to the battery connections.

0761148C-4575-4365-B727-D634BFE114FA.jpeg
The two outer terminals are the main terminals. Negative on the left and positive on the right. The other terminals are the balancing terminals for the individual cells.