Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Yuneec has made Typhoon H incompatible with DroneDeploy

Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
100
Reaction score
84
Age
71
Location
Monrovia, MD
Don't get me wrong, I love my H. However, since Yuneec has not (yet) decided to save GPS data (lat, lon, alt) in EXIF with their JPGs, users cannot utilize the services of companies such as DroneDeploy to create 3D maps or utilize any of their other services. This lack of EXIF support, in effect, severely limits the usefulness of the H which inadvertently puts DJI at an advantage. If Yuneec wants to seriously compete with DJI (which I believe they do), then this capability has to be corrected with a firmware update sooner than later. There is great potential in the H, so hopefully they will release it's full potential for us to use.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2016
Messages
144
Reaction score
40
Age
58
So there is only 6 contacts connected to the camera / gimbal , so is there two way stream to the main body , so can the camera receive gps data from the main body ?.
 
Joined
May 2, 2016
Messages
503
Reaction score
228
Location
Gratallops, Spain
Don't get me wrong, I love my H. However, since Yuneec has not (yet) decided to save GPS data (lat, lon, alt) in EXIF with their JPGs, users cannot utilize the services of companies such as DroneDeploy to create 3D maps or utilize any of their other services. This lack of EXIF support, in effect, severely limits the usefulness of the H which inadvertently puts DJI at an advantage. If Yuneec wants to seriously compete with DJI (which I believe they do), then this capability has to be corrected with a firmware update sooner than later. There is great potential in the H, so hopefully they will release it's full potential for us to use.
I believe you get EXIF data when you take/save photos in the DNG format. But please somebody correct me if I'm wrong.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lumberjack0
Joined
Jun 6, 2016
Messages
50
Reaction score
25
You actually get less EXIF data in DNG format, basically the type of camera and that's about it.
 
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
100
Reaction score
84
Age
71
Location
Monrovia, MD
There is EXIF data stored with the JPGs, however, Yuneec only provides the latitude and longitude values, NOT the altitude. No altitude data, no 3D stictching of photos. Yuneec evidently has full access to the GPS, so why leave off the altitude? Another request for inclusion in next firmware update. Come on Yuneec, such potential here, how about releasing it and being a real competitor?
 
  • Like
Reactions: pctyphoon
Joined
Jun 8, 2016
Messages
144
Reaction score
40
Age
58
I didn't know if it was a can't do it ,or just don't want to .
I guess if there is a two way stream of data to the camera , it's possible with a firmware update.
 
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
100
Reaction score
84
Age
71
Location
Monrovia, MD
My bad. The method that I was using on OSX to examine the EXIF data for some reason wasn't displaying the altitude data. In conventional photography it would be less important as one would assume that the photographer was "on the ground" at the given lat/long. Sami, after seeing your EXIF.jpg, I utilized another method and the altitude was indeed captured. Thank you for showing me my error. My apologies to Yuneec for my incorrect assumption. I will strive for multiple verifications befor making future assumptions.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lumberjack0
Joined
Feb 2, 2016
Messages
33
Reaction score
1
Age
57
Isn't the GPS data logged on the controller's SD card, like it is in the Q500?
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
3
Age
29
So does this mean that the H is compatible with Drone Deploy? Has anyone tried this out yet?
 
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
100
Reaction score
84
Age
71
Location
Monrovia, MD
All of the necessary exif data is included (currently) in the jpg images, which is what DroneDeploy utilizes. I have sucessfully uploaded a series of 30 or so images of my property and constructed a 3D representation. It even gave some suggestions to improving the images. I shot at 100' and it suggested I shoot at 200'. I also didn't take any oblique images so the sides of some objects were blurred, but that was to be expected.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JCFlippen
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
782
Reaction score
225
Age
61
Location
Peak District, UK
What kind of camera are you using which only delivers such little information in raw...I use Canon and Sony and I get much more than that? Are you referring to just the Yuneec H camera or "raw"
in general?


www.michaelkienitz.com
I was at the time referring to the CGO3+ and this was posted prior to the firmware update
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2017
Messages
12
Reaction score
2
Age
23
All of the necessary exif data is included (currently) in the jpg images, which is what DroneDeploy utilizes. I have sucessfully uploaded a series of 30 or so images of my property and constructed a 3D representation. It even gave some suggestions to improving the images. I shot at 100' and it suggested I shoot at 200'. I also didn't take any oblique images so the sides of some objects were blurred, but that was to be expected.
What software did you use? Drone Deploy? If yes how to install it on ST16 ?
 

PatR

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 1, 2016
Messages
10,090
Reaction score
5,450
Location
N. California
Drone Deploy is designed around DJI software, not Yuneec's. if you can't obtain the results you are looking for it's because you are using incompatible systems. People need to spend a little more time looking at their EXIF data. Lat, Long, and Altitude are indeed present in CGO-3 photos but they format the Latitude and Longitude a little differently.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2017
Messages
12
Reaction score
2
Age
23
Drone Deploy is designed around DJI software, not Yuneec's. if you can't obtain the results you are looking for it's because you are using incompatible systems. People need to spend a little more time looking at their EXIF data. Lat, Long, and Altitude are indeed present in CGO-3 photos but they format the Latitude and Longitude a little differently.
KC3FPV said he did I just want to know what software he used?
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
17,004
Messages
198,536
Members
19,675
Latest member
Mildred