Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

First ever flight successful

Reaction score
I finally got my H+ 3 days ago and have been chomping at the bit to fly it. Took it down to the local high school practice football field since that's only about a block away and has enough open space. Since I'm new to the drone thing, my only objective was to learn the flight controls, basic maneuverability and bringing it home in one piece. I flew for 2 batteries worth of flight time. Mission accomplished on all but I think it's going to be a long learning curve for me. Hardest part for me was to NOT watch the bird directly and fly looking at the display. That's gonna take some getting used to. I'll learn the camera controls at a later time, after I get comfortable with flying. All flown at low altitued (below treetop level). I'll probably fly a couple of more flights later today, weather permitting. Can't wait to add this to my photography arsenal!

Reactions: biltno and Ty Pilot
Unless you are always going to have someone with you acting as a spotter, you need to learn to look at the bird as well as the display... for example, if you are flying in an area with power lines, you need to keep them in view in relation to the H, because you will never see them on the ST-16 screen... nowhere near the brightness or resolution on the controller to make them out.

Flying these is like driving a car... and using the camera is like operating the audio system... you have to have the flying down before starting to add controlling the camera into the mix. In any of the H series the camera is the single most expensive component... but in it's very nature also your biggest distraction.

To get pure flying practice, you should consider removing the camera for your first dozen flights.

Reactions: AH-1G