Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Still no firmware update that fixes the painful st16 to camera binding time?

Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
82
Reaction score
28
Age
45
Location
Isle of Man
Apart from the manual workaround, I'm still not aware of a patch or firmware update that addresses the st16 to camera binding time problem on startup.

Or have i missed something?
 
Last edited:

Steve Carr

Missed Approach
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
7,958
Reaction score
4,412
Location
Bessemer, MI
Apart from the manual workaround, I'm still not aware of a patch or firmware update that addresses the st16 to camera binding time problem on startup. Or have i missed something?
How long does it take the camera to connect to the ST16?
 

h-elsner

Premium Pilot
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
1,149
Reaction score
802
Location
Bavaria / Germany
With EU camera firmware it takes minutes to establish the WLAN hotspot by camera. This is due to EU regulations to scan more channels to avoid distubing weather radar and other radio services.
I'm afraid there will never come a firmware that overrules that. However, we need to be patient here in Europe. On the other hand, this is good for the GPS accuracy, both copter an RC control.;)

bf HE
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2018
Messages
3,330
Reaction score
1,406
Age
55
Location
Uk
Can take more than 5 minutes for me in UK. Bit more time to get prepared.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
82
Reaction score
28
Age
45
Location
Isle of Man
Actually it doesn't quite take 5 minutes for me @Mrgs1, more like 3ish @Steve Carr but there's a quicker workaround I've seen on YouTube which I've yet to try.
Makes good sense what you say @h-elsner , I never thought of that!
And yes i guess it gives more time for more gps satellite links to be established.
I'm relieved to know I'm not alone and even more the explanations above, thanks guys, gotta work on my patience
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2018
Messages
381
Reaction score
225
Age
54
Location
weymouth uk
annoying bit is after waiting for 5 mins take off set the camera up lock wb etc then retract landing gear lose camera signal and have to do it all over again
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2018
Messages
3,330
Reaction score
1,406
Age
55
Location
Uk
Also annoying when your drone is half a mile away and your screen goes blank! Had that a few times!
Had that occur but I wait or go higher, probably about 30 seconds then Fpv is restored, 2.4 still functioning all the time.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Air Intel
Joined
Oct 2, 2018
Messages
3,330
Reaction score
1,406
Age
55
Location
Uk
Actually it doesn't quite take 5 minutes for me @Mrgs1, more like 3ish @Steve Carr but there's a quicker workaround I've seen on YouTube which I've yet to try.
Makes good sense what you say @h-elsner , I never thought of that!
And yes i guess it gives more time for more gps satellite links to be established.
I'm relieved to know I'm not alone and even more the explanations above, thanks guys, gotta work on my patience
Can be a bit quicker, but I wait for as many Sat's as possible, if I'm on 15 on copter 11 on controller, I go.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Air Intel
Joined
Mar 7, 2018
Messages
36
Reaction score
15
Age
55
Not a problem, more a quirk of the way we in the UK (EU) have to wait for the WiFi to kick in. Never more than 90 seconds for me, and it's good time for some common sense checks to kick in.
Apart from the manual workaround, I'm still not aware of a patch or firmware update that addresses the st16 to camera binding time problem on startup.

Or have i missed something?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Air Intel
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
901
Reaction score
247
Age
70
Apart from the manual workaround, I'm still not aware of a patch or firmware update that addresses the st16 to camera binding time problem on startup.

Or have i missed something?
The time it takes for me to bind the cam is 2-4 minutes (EU) in worst case and it's perfect. Why? Then I can't rush up in the air before there is enough sats!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Air Intel

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
5,907
Reaction score
3,388
Location
Genesee, MI USA
Aha. Thought so. Its only happened on donut sofar, weird.

The donut (mushroom) is an omnidirectional antenna and should be angled up from the ground (so it looks like a mushroom for best radiation pattern). The flat square patch antenna needs the flat front facing the TH. It is a more directional antenna and if not pointed at the TH you will lose the video easier.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2017
Messages
4,205
Reaction score
1,978
I like "donuts", sweet and full of air.o_O I use the donut, I don't have the transmitter pointing at the H at all times.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
78
Reaction score
33
Location
Netherlands
I wonder what the difference is between all the experinces we have with connection time. I don’t think I ever had to wait for more than 30 seconds for video connection. Control is always instantanious as soon as I power on and the H has booted up.
Usually it’s the sattelites that takes most time to aquire but I’m always ready for takeoff within 2 minutes of opening the case.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Air Intel and AH-1G

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
19,307
Messages
224,283
Members
22,745
Latest member
Santacroce893