Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

How To Disable Smart Mode

Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
393
Reaction score
154
Age
50
Location
North Carolina
For those of you who do not want "smart mode" here is what I figured out this morning. I have already flown three batteries and it works like a champ. Be certain to write down your factory settings/percentages before modifying anything!!! Now, go have fun. ;)

UPDATED STEPS (Much Simpler)
Seems all you need to do contrary to a few of the steps shown in my video are as follows and it will disable the "Smart Mode" until you decide other wise. It is working every time for me and flawless.
1.Tap Channel settings
2.Tap OK
3.Tap AO1
4.Tap S4
5.Tap edit
6. Change Pos.0: from Act to INH ( Reverse this step to gain smart mode feature )
7. Tap Save
8. Tap Return twice and your done.

To confirm you have successfully disabled the SMART MODE simply boot up you ST16 and H then switch between modes
RTH should be Red on your H's LED
Angle should be purple with white
Smart mode if disabled will be purple and white rather than green

 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2016
Messages
430
Reaction score
104
Age
66
Location
london UK
For those of you who do not want "smart mode" here is what I figured out this morning. I have already flown three batteries and it works like a champ. Be certain to write down your factory settings/percentages before modifying anything!!! Now, go have fun. ;)

Well found.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Forrestt
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
For those of you who do not want "smart mode" here is what I figured out this morning. I have already flown three batteries and it works like a champ. Be certain to write down your factory settings/percentages before modifying anything!!! Now, go have fun. ;)

Good job my friend ! just hope it doesn't alter anything else down the road you may try, but excellent to thought that in settings !:)
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Forrestt
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
495
Reaction score
201
Great find!
However you need smart mode for 'watch me' and 'follow me' mode.

I wonder if there is an option in there somewhere to disable the circle of death that we need to get rid of?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Forrestt
Joined
Mar 18, 2016
Messages
430
Reaction score
104
Age
66
Location
london UK
Great find!
However you need smart mode for 'watch me' and 'follow me' mode.

I wonder if there is an option in there somewhere to disable the circle of death that we need to get rid of?
Yes well put in those occasions you would very much need the H distancing itself from the subject in follow me an watch me modes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Forrestt
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
For those of you who do not want "smart mode" here is what I figured out this morning. I have already flown three batteries and it works like a champ. Be certain to write down your factory settings/percentages before modifying anything!!! Now, go have fun. ;)

Forresst, then theoretically, can we just move the settings from factory -75 to say -25 and thus reduce the size of the Circle of Death to say 5 ' from the 26' then we will still have smart mode to fly CC and other options, since most all will not take off from less than 5' from them? Seems possible?;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Forrestt
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
393
Reaction score
154
Age
50
Location
North Carolina
Forresst, then theoretically, can we just move the settings from factory -75 to say -25 and thus reduce the size of the Circle of Death to say 5 ' from the 26' then we will still have smart mode to fly CC and other options, since most all will not take off from less than 5' from them? Seems possible?;)
Yes , in theory but I have not experimented with that just yet. It has become very windy here in the mountains of NC so any further testing today is out of the question.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DroneClone
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
Yes well put in those occasions you would very much need the H distancing itself from the subject in follow me an watch me modes.
Not sure it would affect the distance from a tracked subject, or just the take off/landing perimeter in Smart Mode?, but would definitely shut off the use off CCC,POI etc and thus you wouldn't be in those modes because Smart Mode is disabled!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Forrestt
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
1,646
Reaction score
681
Age
64
Location
Melvin Michigan, In the thumb
Quick note.
If you change any of your channel settings, Write them down on a piece of paper and store them in the battery compartment of the ST-16.
If you change them like Forrest suggested, you can easily change them back for the times you want SMART MODE.
Make note of the FACTORY setting, and what you currently have them set to and WHY.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
495
Reaction score
201
Quick note.
If you change any of your channel settings, Write them down on a piece of paper and store them in the battery compartment of the ST-16.
If you change them like Forrest suggested, you can easily change them back for the times you want SMART MODE.
Make note of the FACTORY setting, and what you currently have them set to and WHY.
Would not the reset button take it back to factory setting?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Steve Carr
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
393
Reaction score
154
Age
50
Location
North Carolina
Just had a nice conversation with DroneClone and found something that is a bit of concern actually. I asked him to look at his factory settings so as to compare with what my fac settings were and they did not match. Poor QC or??????
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
Can others state what there POS 0.1.and 2 settings are in factory set, Mine were/are POS0-0- disabled ,POS1-0-disabled POS 2 - Active- +150, Thanks all !
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Forrestt
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
393
Reaction score
154
Age
50
Location
North Carolina
Can others state what there POS 1,2 and 3 settings are in factory set, Mine were/are POS1-0- disabled,POS2-0-disabled POS3 - Active- +150, Thanks all !
That would be a great idea DC! For those of you that are comfortable with doing so. please post your settings as this could be useful indeed!
 
  • Like
Reactions: DroneClone

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
16,814
Messages
196,253
Members
19,511
Latest member
lee robertson