Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

How To Disable Smart Mode

Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
OK I am totally confused.
My ST-16 is Firmware version 03.01.b18 the latest version according to Yuneec.
On My ST-16 the "Flight Mode" switch is on Channel 5 or Switch A01.
When A01 is selected, I get 3 different settings for the Flight Mode. (Smart, Angle, RTH)
When A02 is selected I only see 2 changes on the middle lower display, and it only changes when RTH is selected.
I changed the settings for A01, and you can now see that the H (the tail light) only has Purple White in Safe mode and in Angle mode, and RED in RTH.
When I put A01 back to the -100% 0 100% I again have all 3 modes? Tail Light is Green (Safe Mode) Purple (Angle) and RED (RTH)
Soon as my batteries charge going to go out and test this and shoot some video of a SMART MODE take off.
Brave man !!! LOL, it seems that according to light patterns we are good to go, did you happen to post your setting numbers and activation status? pos0,1 & 2 so I can compare to mine and Forrestt's? Thanks Bob, we may be on to something big !
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Forrestt
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
I am reverse of you in A01
0= 100
1= 0
2= -100
are the colored dots to left of pos green,blue,yellow?
 
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
1,646
Reaction score
681
Age
64
Location
Melvin Michigan, In the thumb
OK, ST-16 is charged up, off to the park. Not enough room around my house to try a SMART MODE take off and play with the switch settings.
I will either come home more confused or crying.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DroneClone
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
393
Reaction score
154
Age
50
Location
North Carolina
OK, ST-16 is charged up, off to the park. Not enough room around my house to try a SMART MODE take off and play with the switch settings.
I will either come home more confused or crying.
Or happy as a lark! Be safe friend!!
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
OK, ST-16 is charged up, off to the park. Not enough room around my house to try a SMART MODE take off and play with the switch settings.
I will either come home more confused or crying.
Be Safe My Friend ! And when done I wonder why my settings are in reversal of yours? or does it even matter? which I think it should! But I never touched them, before writing them down, I have the same light pattern as you too Bob, but just started to rain when I was going to test, Be safe
 

GMC

Joined
May 19, 2016
Messages
63
Reaction score
28
Age
73
Be Safe My Friend ! And when done I wonder why my settings are in reversal of yours? or does it even matter? which I think it should! But I never touched them, before writing them down, I have the same light pattern as you too Bob, but just started to rain when I was going to test, Be safe
Be brave and hit the RESET! :)
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
I think the reversed negative/positive has little effect in my mind? they just need to be different channel settings, so 100,0,-100, will work the same a -100,0,100. Correct me if I am wrong, Cause I am coonfuuused !:confused:
 
  • Like
Reactions: Haydn
Joined
May 26, 2016
Messages
221
Reaction score
51
Location
SF Bay Area, California
My settings

A01 - all active
Pos 0 (Smart mode) = 100%
Pos 1 (Angle mode) = 0%
Pos 2 (RTH) = neg 100%

A02 - Pos 0,1 not active; Pos 2 active
Pos 0 (Smart mode) = 0%
Pos 1 (Angle mode) = 0%
Pos 2 (RTH) = 150%

Also, I can confirm that hitting the 'Reset' button does NOT go back to Factory settings, but instead zeros everything out. Best to write them down or take a picture with your phone. ;)
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
393
Reaction score
154
Age
50
Location
North Carolina
My settings

A01 - all active
Pos 0 (Smart mode) = 100%
Pos 1 (Angle mode) = 0%
Pos 2 (RTH) = neg 100%

A02 - Pos 0,1 not active; Pos 2 active
Pos 0 (Smart mode) = 0%
Pos 1 (Angle mode) = 0%
Pos 2 (RTH) = 150%

Also, I can confirm that hitting the 'Reset' button does NOT go back to Factory settings, but instead zeros everything out. Best to write them down or take a picture with your phone. ;)
Just confirmed that as well Bobjazz.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
  • Like
Reactions: Davin and Forrestt
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
My settings

A01 - all active
Pos 0 (Smart mode) = 100%
Pos 1 (Angle mode) = 0%
Pos 2 (RTH) = neg 100%

A02 - Pos 0,1 not active; Pos 2 active
Pos 0 (Smart mode) = 0%
Pos 1 (Angle mode) = 0%
Pos 2 (RTH) = 150%

Also, I can confirm that hitting the 'Reset' button does NOT go back to Factory settings, but instead zeros everything out. Best to write them down or take a picture with your phone. ;)
Bobjazz, you are dead on with mine! have you ever flown in Smart Mode ? Thanks for in put !;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Forrestt
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
393
Reaction score
154
Age
50
Location
North Carolina
Ok folks I just got back from a few more test runs. Seems all you need to do contrary to a few of the steps shown in my video are as follows and it will disable the "Smart Mode" until you decide other wise. It is working every time for me and flawless.
1.Tap Channel settings
2.Tap OK
3.Tap AO1
4.Tap S4
5.Tap edit
6. Change Pos.0: from Act to INH
7. Tap Save
8. Tap Return twice and your done.

To confirm you have successfully disabled the SMART MODE simply boot up you ST16 and H then switch between modes
RTH should be Red on your H's LED
Angle should be purple with white
Smart mode if disabled will be purple and white rather than green
 
  • Like
Reactions: DroneClone
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
13
Location
Texas
Ok folks I just got back from a few more test runs. Seems all you need to do contrary to a few of the steps shown in my video are as follows and it will disable the "Smart Mode" until you decide other wise. It is working every time for me and flawless.
1.Tap Channel settings
2.Tap OK
3.Tap AO1
4.Tap S4
5.Tap edit
6. Change Pos.0: from Act to INH
7. Tap Save
8. Tap Return twice and your done.

To confirm you have successfully disabled the SMART MODE simply boot up you ST16 and H then switch between modes
RTH should be Red on your H's LED
Angle should be purple with white
Smart mode if disabled will be purple and white rather than green
Exceelent job my friend! and since I rarely use Smart Mode, if I do, it's a breeze to switch it back and forth if need be ! Great Work !;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Forrestt
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
393
Reaction score
154
Age
50
Location
North Carolina
Thank you brother! It IS really easy to switch. I landed multiple times, stopped the motors but left the H powered up and then exited the flight control app and disabled/enabled the Smart mode at least 6 times. Each time taking off and then landing to revert back. Works like a dream.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gregreh
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
393
Reaction score
154
Age
50
Location
North Carolina
I also tried several percentages under AO1 S4 For POS0 thinking perhaps it would change the copters safety zone but that did not work. I'm betting that its in the firmware and as it stands probably cannot be changed just yet. Someone will figure it out.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DroneClone

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
16,816
Messages
196,296
Members
19,513
Latest member
PGL Drone techniek